measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Damn, he's good

Erich, Jason, and I went to the Fleet Center to see Prince in concert last night. He is such an amazing performer. Talented musician, great set, amazing dancing. Very wisely done as a stage in the round. From the moment he took the stage, he had the vast majority of the crowd on its feet-- and rarely gave them a desire to sit down. The crowd was a great mix of age and race-- some people recognized the older songs better, some recognized the newer. The blend was fantastic. And his funk-set band was phenominal. The drummer was insane. And of course, he finds the rather hot women to play next to him (this case bass and sax).

And really-- there's just something special about being able to see Purple Rain performed live. As well as seeing about twenty thousand people mimic the hand signals for "I would Die 4 U." Heh.

If you have a chance-- seriously, you must go and see what a real showman's concert is like.

I've never been a die-hard fan of Prince, but I've enjoyed the vast majority of his songs. Some I wasn't sure how to feel about at first (i.e. "Get Off," which startled my very repressed Montana teenage sensibilities at the time. Don't get me started on "Darling Nicky"). There are a few songs that I can't stand to this day ("Diamonds and Pearls" for example, which I think is horrid). But overall, he just makes damn good, feel good music. Very complex music with lots of composition in them-- stuff that as a musician, I can appreciate even more. Watching him live just brings him more respect in my mind, because I hadn't been able to appreciate the showman aspect of his performing-- it's not a feat that is easily pulled off.

Everyone was given a copy of his new Musicology CD, too-- I forgot it this morning, but tomorrow I need to bring it in the car to blast for my commute. And maybe a mix CD so I have some feel good music for the god-awful traffic on Route 128.

~ Mel.

11:35 a.m. - 19 August 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda