measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Superbowl wrapup

And Woo Hoo Pats! :) At some point in the next 48 hours, I'll be clammoring to get my gratuitous celebratory overpriced t-shirt along with the rest of Patriot Nation. I'll have two in my collection. :)

The game was good, albeit it started pretty slow. Erich won $200 in his office pool for having 0-0 at the end of the first quarter. I, alas, had numbers that would cause some difficulty and came close only when there was a score of 21-16 on the board (only I needed it the other way around, since I needed the Pats to have a six in their score).

I tuned out most of what we watched of the halftime show as soon as Jessica Simpson gave off that annoying wail. So no, I didn't see The Boob (until I read about it in The Age from Melbourne, Australia today).

The commercials? Boring. Mostly stupid. A couple chuckles here and there, but otherwise I can't fathom why on earth any company would waste such money on such dreck. I also found it annoying that CBS actually censored commercials that they felt were from "advocacy groups." Not that I agree with the message that PETA expresses to the world with their behavior, but it seemed to me that there were an awful lot of advocacy commercials last night. Interesting that the ones that were denied had messages that went against President Bush's agendas. I don't doubt that a lot of the reasoning behind it has to do with the grandfathering clauses that the FCC put in place to save CBS (and other networks) from selling off many of their stations under the new guidelines for media ownership.

Money talks, I suppose. However, I'd rather see all willing purchasers of air-time get a shot at showing their ad, rather than let AOHell have several spots-- and Budweiser's stupidity showing for (I kid you not) five whole minutes of airtime last night.

In any case, the tradition of nifty Superbowl ads can be called dead now-- it's been quite a few years without a lot of good ones. The last good one I can recall was herding cats from two or three years back-- and even those were done in lackluster years.

Ah well- I'm glad for the Pats. Hopefully we won't have goons setting Boston on fire during tomorrow's parade like they attempted last night after the game. :)

In the meantime, I need to do some emotional support for Jason, who's marking a very tough first anniversary today on Candlemas...

~ Mel.

4:05 p.m. - 02 February 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda