measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mortality, Pt. II

I heard from my mom. The reality of how bad my grandmother's condition actually is were brought home with these words:

"The best we can do is make her as comfortable as possible."

Never, ever a good sign.

Grandma's been intubated, and they're running some blood and fluid tests tomorrow. There's still some hope that she'll be able to fight this off, but my mom sounded doubtful.

And she mentioned that she'll let me know if I have to come down there.

Shit.

Part of me knows that this day was coming. My grandmother fought off a near-terminal stage of ovarian cancer four years ago. But it snuck back and settled in her bladder, and then spread. She has spots on her lungs. She's been in pain for a while now.

In a lot of ways, it's probably better to try to make her comfortable.

But I don't want to lose my grandma. Not this way. I want her to be able to die quietly in her sleep, without pain.

*sigh*

~ Mel.

10:25 p.m. - 11 August 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda