measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mortality

Gregory Hines died over the weekend of cancer. In many ways, I feel more saddened by his death than Bob Hope-- mostly because Hope was at an age where death was more than expected at any time. Hines was the same age as my mother-- 57. He wasn't old at all. That gives me a bit of pause-- realizing that my mother is in the age bracket where people can die rather easily of things like cancer, such as Hines did. Here one day, gone the next.

And something's been lost to the world. Something's missing.

In Hines' case, I can't think of another dancer who can take his place. It seems like his style of tap-- a blend of the heyday of the 1930's and 1940's with some modern street funk-- is gone.

Gregory Hines was one of my idols growing up. I studied dance from age 5 to 18, when my ankle finally killed any dream I had of doing local dance theater later on in life. Jazz and ballet I enjoyed, but I *loved* tap. I loved tap because I watched Hines with fascination-- his body so fluid, moving in counterpoint to the sharp, precise tones he created with his feet. His dancing wasn't just moving around in formations and long-standard technique, as ballerinas do. His dancing was earth-bound. He danced from the soul. His whole body became an instrument. His solo in White Nights was my favorite that I saw on screen. I'd practice just to try to get the same rhythm of tones down that he did. I managed to get perhaps about half of them, but I could never do those obscenely fast heel bounces.

Seeing him on Broadway was a dream of mine that never came to pass.

And, of course, there are comedic roles as well. My mind thinks specifically to History of the World, Part I, where he had a great array of one-liners (some of which are extraordinarily un-PC in today's society).

*sigh*

Mr. Hines' death is just an overcurrent, though, of things happening. I'm getting that dread feeling that my grandmother won't be here much longer. She's in the hospital for the second time in a month for breathing problems. This time she's in the ICU. She has developed pneumonia. She was in for Sarcoidosis last month-- a side effect of the chemo she's been going through for the past several months. It might still be a problem this go-around. I know she'd been on steroids for her lungs until as recently as two weeks ago.

I just have a bad feeling. And part of it has been there for a while, but I've ignored it by reaffirming that my grandma is a fighter. She's survived amazing things in her life. She can fight this.

But then again, she might not be able to. Not if it has weakened her this much.

Mom called me last night to let me know.

I'm dreading receiving a second phone call right now.

~ Mel.

11:20 a.m. - 11 August 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda