measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I'm giddy and possessive

Something quietly happened today, and I realized as I walked out the door of an insurance agent that I've finally gotten what I've dreamed about for 15 years since I first walked out of the Billings DMV with my temporary drivers license.

My own car.

The Jeep's mine. Registration's in my name. I have Massachusetts plates. I have insurance.

My car.

LGM accompanied me over to the insurance agent's office to pick up my license plates-- he'd gone to the registrar for me to get my registration certificate and plates this morning, since I just opened up my insurance policy with him yesterday.

Shiny new license plates-- white with red letters and numbers. The two-year registration sticker on the back one.

It's a weird, weird feeling to know that I actually OWN a car. I'm not just driving my parents' car anymore. I have my OWN car.

Now I just need to resist the urge long-held at bay from my high school years to plaster the rear bumper with stickers of all sorts of geeky stuff. I have several stickers, in fact. Including one I got years ago from either LGM or Fisch-- I don't recall who, actually... that has the Tick simply yelling "SPOOOOOOOONNNNNN!" I have another one warning people not to meddle in the affair of dragons, for they are crunchy and good with ketchup.

Somehow I get the feeling that if I were to drive down to PA with those on the back of the car, my mom would cringe. I can't let my mom cringe. I might need her help with a house someday, and I don't want her fearing that I'm going to bumper-sticker a house or something crazy like that. But then again... it's now MINE. I can do whatever I want to do with it, so long as it runs, right?

I will resist the urge to bumper sticker the car. Now, peel-off decals in the windows might be a different story. And a pentacle hanging from the rear-view mirror is a given. Hell, I have a 10" wide dreamcatcher hanging off the laundry hook in the back seat right now-- I bought it in Maine, and realized only after the fact that I can't fathom where to put it in the apartment where Fizzy can't go up and slash it to pieces.

I could be all Pagan-fundie and put a Born Again Pagan thingy on it.

Nah. Not quite me.

The Jeep's all mine.

*goofy ass grin*

7:11 p.m. - 20 June 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda