measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Minarae's questions...

Based on Minarae's questions from the other day that she answered... I asked her to pose five to me. So here we go. Anyone who wants me to come up with five, just ask-- and I'll make sure NOT to cheat and use any from Interviewed. *grin*

1) If you could change just one aspect of your life today, what would you

change? I would change my commitment to my faith. While Paganism is my backbone in life, I'm about as devout in practicing it as your everyday lapsed Catholic who shows up for Mass on Christmas Eve and Easter weekend. I always feel relaxed and balanced when I do ritual. But I just need to sit my ass down to do it one of these days-- I haven't in... oh, probably a year or so.

2) What's the one thing you cannot forgive a person for? Invalidation of my feelings. I can deal with betrayal.. with a LOT of time and effort. I can deal with lying to me. I can deal with a lot of things. I've dealt with multiple infidelity. But if someone doesn't respect the way I feel, even if I am flying off the handle and am being stupid, I lose all respect for a person. It's one of the primary reasons things are so bad between my father and I right now-- my dad never respected my right to have my own feelings. To him, they were invalid. Which essentially was telling me that as a person, I don't matter.

Kinda hard to forgive someone for that.

3) Which emotion is most comfortable for you? The least? Hmm... I keep reacting with situations more than emotions with this.... maybe they're just tied in a bit too closely and I can't pinpoint the emotion.

The most comfortable thing for me is empathy. Even when I'm dealing with painful things from other people. I feel most comfortable being a listener, having compassion, being a friend. It's more of a side-line thing, too-- I don't want to be in the limelight or the center of attention. I just want to be there. *shrug*

The least comfortable is embarrasment. When I'm embarrassed, my worst possible anxiety comes up, my guards go up, I get defensive, and small things turn into huge ones. I'm probably one of the least enjoyable people to be around when I'm embarrassed.

4) I know you hate talking on the phone. Would it really bug you if I

called you one day just to chat? It wouldn't bug me-- I'm never bugged about people calling me. It's honestly a pure thing with anxiety-- I just get all weirded out by the phone. You'd just just have to excuse the nerves and my talking really fast at times. I get better the more times I talk to someone, but the first few times, you'd probably thing I was psychotic or on something REALLY caffeinated.

Plus, well, I mix up words a lot when I speak. To the point I almost stutter.

So if you don't mind me sounding like an idiot-- sure, call me anytime. :)

5) What's the one thing/place you think every visitor to Boston must

see/visit? There are SO many things that I could list... and often they depend on the season of the year as much as the importance of them...

The Public Garden would probably be it. Right in the heart of the city is this oasis of an old public park. Trees and bushes from all over the world are here. Gigantic weeping willows drape gracefully over the central pond. It's oddly quiet in the Public Garden, despite being surrounded by roadways. It's romantic, it's quiet, and it's just a place I love going to all the time.

After that, I'd say the North End... go to the Old North Church, go to Paul Revere's House. Wander down the narrow streets where generations of immigrants have come and gone, changing the landscape of the neighborhood. Take a breath of American history. We grow up here in the USA hearing these stories about the Shot Heard Round the World and the midnight ride on the evening before... these are the actual places where those stories-- and the history-- happened. You can touch them and see them, and it really brings a lot of perspective to how rich this nation's history is.

10:53 a.m. - 19 June 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda