measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Over-extension: Goals for Summer 2003

I'm finding myself in the trap that I've gone down time and time again. I'm over-extending myself interest-wise. I have all of these things I enjoy doing and want to do, and want to do all of them.

The problem is because I have SO many things on that plate, I wind up doing none of them. Partly because I don't know which to do first, and partly because I'm frankly worn out because I'm keeping myself too busy.

No one told me that enjoying life was going to be so damn frustrating.

I've done this since I was a kid. Penpalling, cross-stitch, RPG's, video games, movies, swapping, reading, yoga, Reiki, story writing... the list keeps growing. Things I enjoy doing. Will most likely always enjoy doing. But never find time to do them all. What the hell is my problem?

Actually, I know what the problem is-- I'm simply trying to do too much at one time. I need to cut back. I just don't know what I'm willing to give up. Packratting doesn't just apply to stuff at home. It applies to interests, too.

What kills me is that I WANT to enjoy life. And some of these activities aren't ones that require a lot of money, really. At least not after an initial purchase, such as the video games and RPG's, or the cross-stitch. They just take TIME. Sometimes hours upon hours.

The irony is that it's a problem that my father has. And I'm finding myself developing the same traits about free time that he has. Definitely a "what the fuck!?!" type of development. The LAST thing I ever thought I'd take from my parents was their inability to enjoy free time.

Silly young Mel. Little did she know that there really isn't much in the way of free time once you're in the working world.

*sigh*

So here's my list of things I WANT to do this summer. Some are interests. Some are personal goals. I'll see sometime mid-July how many things I've actually accomplished from this list. :) Then I'll check back in late August right before Memorial Day

~ edit my NaNoWriMo novel from last November

~ organize the penpalling corner... get everything that's backed up mailed out, so I'm only dealing with currents

~ write to my grandma, telling her how I've been feeling about the stuff with Dad.

~ pay off the bed. Catch up on my Apple Loan and make a dent in it.

~ Lose 20 pounds.

~ develop a solid yoga practice at least 3 times per week.

~ develop my backgrounds for NaNoWriMo 2003... settings, characters, etc.

~ complete one quarter of my cross-stitch sampler

~ read the 10 books backed up on my reading list

~ clean off my old G3 computer and reinstall software on it

~ begin typing in my rituals from my now oil-soaked Book of Moons so I can print out a new copy *sigh*

~ find what's troubling me about my self-image that's causing friction between Erich and I, and get past whatever issue it is.

~ Clean out the final tub from The Beast so our storage space is sorted post-move.

~ Get the Jeep insured and change it over to my name (if necessary)

~ Visit my mom at least one weekend this summer

~ Go to the Pagan bookstores on my list of "I've always wanted to go there..."

~ Give Janet her Reiki attunements in person

~ Laugh more

~ Get off my ass more

~ Love more

~ Improve my cooking skills

~ Figure out what's troubling me so much about work, and what needs to be done to solve the problem

~ Email my journaling friends more often to keep in touch (Min, Hoolie, Finn, Ethne, etc)

~ Get back on track with Interviewed

Me? Over-extending myself?

*snort*

Never! I just don't want to be left with nothing to do.

Yeah. That's it.

~ Mel.

11:08 a.m. - 03 June 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda