measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a day from hell...

Yesterday was utter hell.

So much so that I left work nearly in tears-- at one p.m. (thank Goddess for early-release summer Fridays). New Bigger Boss dropped a bomb of a meeting on us, couldn't understand how it could actually be difficult to plan food and a room for 37 people on essentially two hours notice (since this happened a half-hour before I was to leave for the day, and the meeting's at noon on Monday).

Not to mention the fact that I *had* a doctor's appointment for 11 a.m. on Monday... which I've had to cancel and hopefully reschedule.

On top of the dropping of said meeting, I was chewed out by no less than ten people in my department who couldn't believe "I" would schedule a meeting on such short notice, and at a shitty noon to two time slot on top of it all. AND the only room available for the time slot was an extremely uncomfortable tight squeeze for us all-- half of the department will be on the floor, if everyone shows up. Bigger Boss suggested splitting it into two rooms... but no offense-- there aren't two that are in close enough proximity that I'd dare do that... because then I'm running back and forth between two meeting rooms of needy people who can't survive without having soda right where they can see it.

No. ONE room, Bigger Boss. If you're going to drop this on me, dammit, I'm going to make it as easy on myself as possible. Considering how hellish my Monday has now become (not to mention the work I already had for Monday morning).

Tension was very, very high as I left the office yesterday. I was a step away from a really tempting "I don't need this shit" and leaving. But I know there aren't jobs out there right now, and I can't afford the job lapse with the bills I owe out.

Fuck.

So I leave work-- drive into Boston, pick up my mail. I was in the post office for five minutes... TOPS. Come back out to my car-- a neon orange parking ticket. There goes $30. *sigh* As annoyed as I was, considering the number of times I've parked illegally (there IS no legal parking, save a garage by my post office), this is the first ticket I've gotten in the six years I've had the post office box. I really can't complain.

So then I begin the downtown Boston slalom to get back to I-93 South to head home and grab lunch somewhere south of the city-- so I don't get another fucking ticket. As I turn onto the surface road that is now the entrance to I-93, a cabbie cuts me off, whirls around me, and starts chucking toward the entrance ramp. I swear, pull out into the lane, and begin driving at a more civilized pace. No sooner have I started to accelerate, but two cops start RUNNING down the street.

Mel goes into panic mode-- now what the fuck have I done?!?

Then out of nowhere, five Boston cop cars come out of NOWHERE and pull over the cabbie, grabbing him out of the car, forcing his hands up, and grabbing his passenger. I started driving REALLY slow then... just in case.

Nope, not coming for me. Good. Okay.

I still looked in my rear view mirror a lot as I drove down I-93, wondering if they were coming after me.

By the time I got home, I just collapsed on the couch into a vegetable. Stayed there all afternoon.

At just before eight, I picked up Erich, who treated me to Honey Mustard BBQ wings at the 99 for dinner (aka "Chicken Thingies"). Because they're comfort food. And I needed a lot of it.

So today I'm HOME. And I'm not going ANYWHERE.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

(and a more positive entry relating to This and This will be coming later tonight... I'm composing. :)

For now though... *kisses Erich. Happy anniversary hon.

~ Mel.

5:57 p.m. - 31 May 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda