measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Springtime rejuvenation

While we aren't having the eighty and ninety degree weather the middle of the US had this weekend... yet... today is an absolutely delightful springtime day. Sunny skies, a very gentle breeze, and temperatures in the mid-50's. Gotta love it.

In the attempt to keep myself from eating bad food at lunch, I've been trying to come up with various options that can serve both my desire to eat out (to get away from the office) and also eat something healthy. Yes, I love salads. I don't want them every single day. Sooner or later, I'd start to hate salads. And with summer coming, salad is about the heaviest thing I'd want to eat for lunch since it's usually so hot and humid.

Today's journey for healthy food led me out to Natick-- three towns over from my office, and about a 10 minute hike (out of my allotted hour) west on Route 9. I rolled down the windows, popped the sunroof up a bit, and cranked up the radio. Sunny days just seem to bring life back to the world. I wasn't alone in my driving style decisions today.

I went out to a little sushi place in Natick called Oga's. One of Erich's friends who lives in the area recommended it to us since we'd mentioned we'd recently been to Ginza in downtown Boston.

It was fantastic. Wonderful sushi-- the lunch platter had an assortment that looked huge, but was just the perfect amount for lunch once eaten with the salad (I love that ginger dressing!) and the miso soup. I'm full, but not stuffed. It was just enough to feel satiated. Which is a good thing-- it means I'm controlling my portions a bit.

And the odd thing is, as I walked out, I felt energized. No post-eating slump. I feel alert. I feel happy.

This is a rarity for me after eating.

I'm convinced that sushi is going to be something I do a bit more often for lunch. Sure, it's a little expensive. But considering that I'll save money doing salads one day a week, it will even out with what I spent on lunch going out for fast food (which isn't exactly cheap anymore anyway).

And it is my health, after all. Spending a bit more to eat healthily is not a bad thing.

Off to energetically tackle the afternoon...

Wheeeeeeeee!

1:50 p.m. - 14 April 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda