measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Busy, busy week

I'm feeling a little cruddy thanks to lack of sleep this week. It's been an unusual week in just about every respect... fun at times, absolute hell in others. But because I've been running around so much, I haven't been able to update my journal or Interviewed like I'd hoped to. *sigh*

Part of it has just been feeling like I really don't want to write lately, though, to be fair.

*shrug*

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Erich has some interesting links about how Congress is trying to encroach on the division between Church and State... again.

I'm just praying for some huge changes in government in the 2004 elections, although I have a sickening feeling that a lot of things are going to stay just as they are.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Yesterday my entire department went to a cross-site meeting with our counterparts from New Jersey. We met halfway at a gorgeous old estate called Saint Clements Castle (warning... there's sound on some of these linkedpages) in Portland, Connecticut. I want this place when I retire. Seriously. Granted, none of the greenery was out that's in the website photos... but this place is gorgeous. I can only imagine what it looks like in the summertime.

Pure romantic bliss for a wedding.

Anyway... we had our all-day meeting, including a total of 4 hours of bus travel time. It's interesting to meet the people we're always emailing. It's also surprising how utterly different our two offices are-- how our office is, despite our dysfunction, appearing like a bunch of kids on sugar and happy pills next to our counterparts. Scary stuff how polar opposites we were.

A lot of the stuff in the meeting didn't relate to anything I do as a secretary, but it was nice to have a day away from the office regardless. And since I didn't have to do a ton of large group mingling, I kept my social anxiety in relative check. Only two short walks away from everyone to take some deep breaths.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I'm anxious to have this weekend to get things straightened up around the apartment. With the beautiful weather we've been having, spring cleaning fever is in full swing. I'm hoping to get a lot of the little corners cleaned out by the end of the weekend and just feel like stuff's back in control.

And on top of it, I get my yearly bonus in Monday's paycheck. It's about half of what I received last year-- but every bit helps me get further out of debt. AND this bonus helps me get my taxes covered for the year (since I owed... again...) and pay for my yoga classes. And maybe my down payment on the car insurance, too. Or at least close out a credit card, which would be nice.

We'll see-- in any case, I'm using this bonus to just pay off bills so I can have (hopefully) some more play money this summer.

Off to jump into Friday evening traffic... more later. :)

4:09 p.m. - 28 March 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda