measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We might be Heroes

Erich and I are having our first serious houseguest hangout this weekend. We've had people over for small periods of time, or in the case of LGM and Ade, brief sleepovers. But we've never really had an organized hangout/crash over.

LGM, Avatar, and Wildcard will all be here on Friday evening. LGM's running us through a mini-campaign for Heroes-- an RPG game I haven't played in nearly two years. My last experience with it wasn't all that great, but then again, there was a heavy dose of influence from what was happening between LGM and I then. Things were downright awful between us at that point. Gaming was no exception. If anything, it was one of the safe things for each of us to punish the other with because it gave us the bullshit excuse that we were doing everything "in game," even though both of us knew we weren't.

Not good memories.

Despite that, I do want to try playing Heroes again. Hopefully under the current climate, I'll find an interest in it. However, I won't be pulling any of my old characters back, even though I have a quiet desire to stretch Spellbinder or Bast's legs for a bit. Instead, they'll exist for me to write stories about and use as archetypes for novels, free from the pain that I associated with them for so long. I'm going to roll up a new character for this game-- something without the negative history attached. Something fresh. Something untainted. Just another, quiet way of keeping the past in the past. Besides-- two years is a long time for a Heroes character to go unused. I have other plans for Bast, Spellbinder, and other various characters I had-- both dead and alive.

It should be highly amusing to see how Erich plays with Frank and Rob... I see the session this Friday being a completely whacky one for a variety of reasons. Delusions of grandeur are probably going to reign supreme. Perhaps we need to have a tape recording of this one. *grin*

*sigh* off to work... more tonight when I get home..

~ Mel.

9:16 a.m. - 25 February 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda