measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A happy little love-filled weekend

Ah... the joys of long weekends. How I live for these times. :) And it's a busy one, but one that will be fun.

As part of the "this is weird... I'm actually able to celebrate Valentine's Day" celebrations... here's what has happened so far.

I got out of work at 1:30, grabbed lunch, and then went to pick Erich up from work. We did some shopping in downtown Boston for some clothes he needed, did my $45.00 mail run (the attempt to get rid of friendship books continues...), and then went to Ginza for sushi.

Ginza is one of those places that just must be tried by anyone visiting Boston who enjoys sushi, or just enjoys Japanese food. It's not cheap-- about $46.00 for two people-- but the food is absolutely fantastic, and they use all sorts of exotic fish for the sushi and sashimi. I firmly believe that miso soup is just a staple of life, too. I absolutely love the stuff. It's just so soothing, and so light. I can just see myself drinking a small bowl of it slowly before meditation. It's one of those foods that would immediately put me in the mood for some serenity.

We got a 1/2 carafe of warm saki, too. It was a bit too sweet for both of our tastes, but it wasn't expensive, and the bottle made for two shotglass cups full for each of us-- more than enough, I think. And it made to tie everything in for the evening.

After dinner, we headed back to the car, freezing our asses off because it's just THAT DAMN COLD in Boston tonight. Single digits at 6 p.m.... it's supposed to drop into the negs tonight and tomorrow night. *shiver*

Trying to get out of Boston was a clusterfuck, so Erich let me drive, and I took a back route out of downtown, headed out Beacon Street, and went down Mass Ave. past my old apartment. It was weird being down in that area of the city again. I really hadn't been there since I moved out. And not much had changed. I told Erich how I do miss the city. The energy was wonderful there. But I know I couldn't afford it any longer. I'm still getting out of debt from living there. I was lucky to get away when I did.

We'd planned on going to see a movie-- either Gangs of New York or Chicago tonight, but we're both somewhat tired, and just felt like snuggling. We can always go on Sunday or Monday, since we have the long weekend together. We've decided to spend the night here at home, cuddle, watch TV, have some fun appropriate romping, and get a good night's sleep.

And meanwhile, I've enjoyed the purple rose bouquet and Lindt chocolates from Erich. The boy does know how to win me over. *swoons*

~~~~~

Tomorrow we have a game up at Tan's and JT's. LGM will also be in attendance. He flew back up to Manchester yesterday and is staying with Greg and Kelly tonight. Tomorrow night he'll crash out here, and then head back to New York for the first time since the emergency plane trip to get home to his dad's side before his death. Since LGM and one of our other friends, Purkis, need to roll up characters, Erich and I are bringing our Illuminati cards to do some trading with Tan and JT. We're also bringing a couple Red Dwarf episodes so Tan can finally understand the background behind the "Fiiiiiiiish!" comments that keep being used jokingly-- often to refer to my little black cat. ("Today's Fizz is Trout a la Cr�me... enjoy your Fizz").

~~~~~~

Sunday is a bit up in the air as far as plans go. Erich is heading into Boston in the morning to go to the Boskone convention (which is the grand-daddy of Arisia, and the reason behind Arisia in the first place). George R. R. Martin, one of Erich's favorite authors, is a guest panelist at the con. On Sunday morning, he's signing autographs, and therefore Erich MUST GO.

My plans will depend on LGM and when he needs to get to the train station. Then I'll head into Boston to meet up with Erich for lunch and whatever.

~~~~

On Monday (no work... woo hoo!) we're going to the Museum of Science for the Egyptian exhibit. I've heard amazing reviews about it. Apparently there is a reconstruction of a burial chamber, with the Book of the Dead written on the walls and ceiling. I can't wait!

I'm being called to the bedroom. *grins wickedly* Hmmmm.... guess I should run along, eh?

Happy Valentine's Day, all!

~ Mel.

8:53 p.m. - 14 February 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda