measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Friday Five

1. Explain why you started to journal/blog. I've been writing in a journal since I was eleven-- my parents were about to separate, and I needed to be able to express myself. I've had a journal in some form since then, although there have been time gaps of months or years, depending on what's been going on in life. Since my junior year of college, I've had a journal consistently. I started writing in an online one two years ago this March, and prefer the format since I can type just about at the same pace as my thoughts.

2. Do people you interact with day to day or family members know about your journal/blog? Why or why not? Some do-- my boyfriend knows, several of my friends-- both ones I see all the time and ones I don't see due to distance-- know and read it, and a few of my coworkers know about it. Haven't let my parents or my brother in on it yet-- not sure if I would.

I think it's actually important to show people I know my journal-- because there are a lot of times that I just can't express things verbally that I REALLY DO want to say. Maybe it just can't be said at a certain time, but I want them to know, and this is the way to express it. It also allows them to see into my head, which tends to be somewhat locked down, even to my closest friends (unintentionally... I just don't get into deep thoughts with people that often).

It also just helps me keep in touch with people. I'm horrific at replying to emails and letters-- we won't get into the phone topic. This way, I can let folks know I'm alive and okay, even if I'm going absolutely insane.

3. Do you have a theme for your journal/blog? Nope. Just life as it comes-- sometimes day to day entries, sometimes thoughts about what's going on in life, sometimes discussions about my past. It's a mixture of everything.

4. What direction would you like to have your journal/blog go in over the next year? I would like to concentrate more on some deeper subjects-- things that actually do force me to sit down and thing for a while before writing, rather than do my typical off-the-cuff stuff. I found a site yesterday that had some journal-writing prompts, and I intend to use some of them.

5. Pimp five of your favorite journals/blogs. Heh... I'll pimp more-- go over to my links page. *grin*

-- thanks to the Friday Five.

11:33 a.m. - 14 February 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda