measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

yoga

First-- thanks to everyone who dropped a guestbook message or email to encourage me... I appreciate it. And a big "yes" to anyone who has things that have worked for them-- drop me an email and tell me about it. It might not work for me, but then again, it might.

Yoga last night was relaxing. I don't feel like I'm getting enough of a stretch in some of the poses because I'm not feeling all loose after yoga like I used to in college. But then again, it's been a while, and some of the muscles might just be too tight to really stretch out, or the modifications Carolyn is using are a bit too basic for me in some poses. Regardless, for now I'm doing them the way she's instructing because it HAS been a while, and I'd rather take it slow and then be able to bend into the more complex stretches later than try to push myself to where I remember I could stretch 7 years and about 60 pounds ago. I know I'll get there again somehow-- I do think my weight is holding me back on a lot of it.

A couple of the people in my class openly said my flexibility scares them-- when we do the uttanasana bend my hands are flat on the floor, and my knees are bend just enough to keep the stress off of them, but are nearly straight. I smile and just say it's the one pose I'm still able to do really well because my weight doesn't get in the way.

The one thing that has surprised me is that other than in poses where I'm balancing on one foot, my right ankle isn't giving me that much trouble. It's a nice feeling, actually. Maybe with time and some stretching, I'll be able to strengthen it a bit-- at least enough to feel sturdy on it.

I'm thinking that I'll take advantage of being an alumna of Boston University and take yoga this summer-- the classes are very reasonable-- ten sessions in five weeks for $75, since I have a university affiliation.

I just need to get myself active... *sigh*

10:55 a.m. - 06 February 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda