measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I think I've created a monster.

Last weekend while Erich and I were at the Arisia convention, I introduced him to a little addiction of mine that I really try not to indulge in too often due to the price.

Oysters on the half shell. At Legal Sea Foods... one of the best places to get them.

He'd been afraid to try them because, well, they reminded him too much of the critter autopsy in the original Alien movie (they used oysters and clams for the "guts" of the creature, I believe). Plus, the idea of raw oysters just freaked him out too much. But we've done sushi recently, and he's pretty cool with that. And since he's a salt addict anyway, I figured he'd probably like oysters.

He didn't like them. He loved them.

On Sunday as we drove home, he joked that we needed to get more oysters. I promised him that we'd go for oysters again soon. Trust me... it's not going to take too much of an arm twisting for me to go out for oysters, let alone most seafood. And somewhere in the back of my mind, I keep thinking that I mentioned Friday (tonight) to go get them.

I dropped him a line about a half-hour ago to let him know I'd be working through 6 p.m. to attempt to have the feeling that I'm clearing my desk for the week (I won't... but if I'm productive, I'll feel better). I mentioned that we had pork chops in the freezer if he wanted those and mashed potatoes.

He said that was cool. And then I remembered the oysters, and asked him if he'd rather do that.

The answer was pretty quick. Now we just need to figure out where we're going. And how much money we want to drop on the little buggers. At around a buck fifty a pop, they're not exactly cheap...

3:27 p.m. - 24 January 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda