measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cozy Reading

One of my favorite pasttimes, reading, was lost to me when I started driving to work. I used to have over an hour of reading time on the subway train every day-- each way. It was a great way to relax and kick back during my commute, making the time go by faster. Since I've started driving, that allotted time was eliminated and taken over by sitting in a car.

I didn't realize I'd missed reading so much until after Christmas a few weeks ago. I'd put a lot of books on my Amazon wish list, more with the intent for *me* to buy them at some point. The wish list was my personal memory notes of what looked interesting. Instead, between my dad, Erich, and Erich's dad, I received a bunch of new books for Christmas this year off the list. And I've been happily reading every day, even if it's only for about fifteen minutes or so.

I forgot how much I missed reading. Particularly during the dark hours of frigid winter nights. I just curl up under the comforter and enjoy the time. This morning I spent about an hour reading, since I didn't feel like getting up with Erich at 7. Both cats kept me company. It was a gentle, calm way to start the day, surrounded by my little furry babies. :)

My current reading binge is on a Pagan murder-mystery series by M.R. Sellars. I finished the first book, "Harm None," on Sunday. I'm now on the second, "Never Burn a Witch." There's one more, "Perfect Trust," which I'll probably start next week if my timing continues. They're quite good. The current one is about a maniac who has taken it upon himself to begin a modern-day inquisition of pagans in the St. Louis area... torturing them for their confessions and killing them in one of many ways described in the Malleus Maleficarum (Hammer of the Witches), an actual book written in the late 1400's which became the manual for determining whether a person was guilty of witchcraft for the next 200 years. Hideous stuff. Not lightweight murder mystery-- but because of the subject matter, I'm fascinated.

Because of the subject matter, it's also kicking me in the rear to start working on the novel again.

Ah, books-- how I've missed you. :) I wonder if I could get away with sneaking some reading time today in my cubicle...

10:29 a.m. - 24 January 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda