measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

\"I am officially George Lucas' Bitch\"

I meant to get to this last night, but got involved in three busy AIM chats at the same time. :) It's been a busy weekend, and a rather nice productive one. I'm home from work today for two reasons, one which isn't pleasant, the other that is. :)

I had a good birthday. On Friday night, I met Erich in the city because he worked the late shift (meaning he got out of work around 7). Once I picked him up, we parked in one of the Chinatown lots. This place was the most claustrophobic parking garage I've ever seen-- and driving into it with the Jeep was terrifying. I'm surprised we didn't dink the car. We went to Ginza, which is a Japanese restaurant right near the Chinatown gate that does fantastic sushi and sashimi. We got a platter for two with all sorts of nifty things to try. It came with a salad-- I love the ginger dressing and miso soup, which Erich had never tried before, but enjoyed (it has a salty fish broth-- a winning combo for him). The presentation of the sushi/sashimi platter was beautiful. It came on a wooden dark-colored boat that was decorated in gold paint. There were a good 20-25 pieces on the platter-- a set of California rolls with roe, another roll that had an outer "shell" of seaweed that I liked, but Erich didn't (texture problems), and slices of each type of fish presented as both sushi and sashimi. All but the sea bass were fish that I'd never heard of before. One, which I *thought* was a salmon on first sight, but turned out to be something native to around Japan, was the most delicate fish I've ever had. Fantastic stuff. After dinner, we headed home and just relaxed.

We slept in on Saturday before getting out the door around 11 a.m. We picked up my mail at my postal box in Boston, and then headed up to Nashua for a game at JT and Tan's. JT and Tan bought me a gift set with a Vincent Van Goh bottle of Vodka and four glasses decorated with his paintings-- very pretty. I haven't had any of it yet-- I planned on having some yesterday, but we were swept into some busy times, and I forgot to put the bottle in the freezer. We had a good game, despite my personal frustrations with dealing with a new character that I have mixed feelings about, and drove Ade and Chris home afterwards, getting home around 1-ish.

I'm very frustrated with my character-- I feel very helpless without having the knowledge that I can heal myself when I'm getting close to falling from my wounds. Plus, I'm finding it difficult to see where the brigand fits in the party dynamic-- she's a fighter, but also has rogue skills, yet not enough to really help out as a rogue. I tried doing some information gathering and got a name to start looking into, but we were pretty busy for most of the gaming session with a battle that kicked our asses. My rolling has been awful the last two sessions, which has made it even worse. I was pretty upset after the game because of it-- I hate playing new characters as it is, but when I can't even do anything because of my poor rolls, I just feel like I'm being pathetically useless and just start to give up for the evening. Hopefully things will improve. I'll give it a couple more sessions, I guess. If it's not improving, I'll be looking into making some changes. I'll unwillingly try Erich's planning method for a character. At this point, though, I don't want to put too much effort into the character I'm playing because I don't know if she'll even survive that long, nor be of use to the party in any practical way. I'm just not feeling an interest in her. The problem with it is that I actually enjoy playing clerics, but in my reading of the Kalamar book, I don't like how they have church hierarchies set up, nor does it make sense that all churches would have the same type of hierarchies. So I probably won't play a cleric, even though it's really the class I feel most comfortable with. We'll see.

On a more positive light, JT and Tan gave Erich and I a copy of the new Star Wars core worlds gaming book, which officially makes the two of us George Lucas's bitches. JT helped write a good chunk of the book, and for some of his writing, he used people in our gaming group (Erich and I have both of our names in there-- his is just spelled differently. My last name was changed to "Kand"), borrowed character names (you'll notice similarities between some of the names in the book for planets or characters and our recaps, and even immortalized his cat as a new breed of animal (see Spookimus in the book). I even got a picture of the character next to me-- and it's oddly like me with the somewhat Druidic/Shamanistic clothes (and long hair in a braid, which amused me).

I'll make a few scans of a couple of pages tomorrow at the office... if I can wrestle the book from Erich's hands. :)

So if you game-- go buy the book. Convince Wizards of the Coast that JT needs more writing jobs. :)

Yesterday I was up early, updating Interviewed and trying to get the new interview questions out to people (anyone want a journal feature? The queue's really low right now!) Erich slept in. We grabbed lunch around noon over at the 99 in Canton and then went bed-browsing. I'd seen a sale at Mattress Giant in Dedham earlier that week while grabbing lunch, and they had a 6-month payment plan option with no money down. Sounded good... so we checked things out.

And we got a bed. A king-sized pillow top. :) It's being delivered today. For a king, it wasn't that expensive, although everything's relative. The bed will now be the most expensive thing, other than computers, in the apartment.

I can't wait. It's going to be wonderful. While I've always found my queen to be comfortable, it isn't on the floor with no boxspring, and my sleep has really been bad on it. It's an old mattress of unknown age-- but I've had it six years, and bought it used from someone moving out of a college apartment. So who knows. *shrug* (Tan, JT-- if you want it, you're welcome to it. It's a queen. Otherwise, we'll probably ditch the thing.) Erich's old bed is still in fantastic shape, so we're giving it to his dad for the new apartment.

We went to Walmart on the way home and got a bed-in-a-bag set to start out, throwing it on my credit card to worry about later.

This morning Erich moved the two mattresses into the computer room, and after he left for work, I got all of the laundry and other stuff on the floor out of the way for the delivery guys, since they'll set up the bed for us. I gave the room a good vaccuuming so we can have a fresh start in there. It'll be nice to finally feel like we're living in an apartment, rather than a flop house.

We finally got the tree down yesterday, too. After cleaning up all of the pine needles, we scooted all of the furniture back-- we gained about three or four feet in space. It's amazing how much room the thing took up. Since we had to vaccuum pine needles anyway, we got the living room in a good semblance of order-- it's finally looking like we live there, rather than are still moving in. It looked great last night. This morning it's a bit messy again because our old bed comforters are out there, along with some clean laundry I need to hang up.

Scary what an incentive like a new bed will do to get productivity up. :)

So I'm home, originally here to wait for the delivery guys who should be here sometime between noon and three p.m. But I was having some stomach issues this morning that were really painful, and I felt a bit nauseous, too. So it was probably a good thing I stayed home anyway. Most of the pain and nausea has passed, but I feel a bit under the weather, so I'm resting today, hoping I'll get over whatever this bug is. I know Ade wasn't feeling great on Saturday. Maybe this is a similar bug. *shrug*

Busy busy weekend... but definitely a good one. :)

11:37 a.m. - 13 January 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda