measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mental escape from divorce

Needy co-workers kept me from updating yesterday. I had a nearly complete entry worked out in my head, too. *sigh* I'll try to reconstruct as much as I can from scratch. Hopefully my morning coffee will help kick in the short-term memory banks a bit.

[erich] and I went to see Star Trek: Nemesis on Sunday afternoon. He seemed pretty convinced that it would suck, based on the online reviews he'd read on "Ain't It Cool News" and such. I shrugged and told him that it really didn't take much for me to enjoy a Star Trek movie, and regardless, I would almost definitely enjoy it. Even if the movie as a whole has a weak plot, I tend to find scenes that I enjoy and make it worthwhile to watch.

Come to think of it, I tend to do that with a lot of movies. Probably one of the reasons I enjoy watching Xanadu from time to time. :)

Anyway... regardless of what some of the reviewers have said, Nemesis does not break the odd-even trend, in my opinion. It's an even number (ten, in this case), and it's a relatively good movie. Not the best of the series (two still gets that honor), but it's decent. It's also much different than the movies before it-- it's darker, it's edgier, and it's an attempt by the Star Trek production team to bring the series into a more mainstream "sci-fi action" movie audience than just the Trekkies, Trekkers, and other random fandom self-monkiered people.

However, I knew walking into the theater that it would take some pretty hefty suckage for me to hate the movie. Because Next Generation has an extremely dug-in soft spot in my heart. I truly credit it for being one of the ways I handled my parents' divorce during my junior high and high school years. Star Trek was my guaranteed hour escape from reality. I could let my mind shut down all of the bullshit going on with my parents and my brother, and just curl up on the couch in the basement and let familiar characters play out a bit of their lives on the screen every week. Even the commercials were unfamiliar-- Star Trek was syndicated from the start, and none of the Billings networks carried it. So I saw it on cable TV from Denver, Colorado's channel 2-- a twelve hour drive away from home.

Andi and I were addicted to Star Trek, long before we knew (being in a remote area of the world as we were-- before the days of internet) there were fanclubs for the thing. We wrote fanfiction, not knowing that there were zines for that sort of thing (I only found that once I discovered X-Files fanfiction in the mid-90's). As hopeless romantic teenage girls, we focused, of course, on the whole Troi-Riker angle.

It didn't take long in Sunday's movie storyline for me to start giggling and recalling several of those pathetically mushy stories Andi and I wrote. :)

And yeah, I fought to hold back a few sob-story tears at the end of the movie. I cry too easily at movies. *sigh*

It was nice to be able to revisit those memories for a little while, though. It also made me realize how I don't have such an escape in my life these days. The escape helped keep me sane because I could shut off my brain for a while. Perhaps I need to find something similar for my life as it stands today.

Or, of course, I could just dredge up the old video tapes in our storage shed that I recorded as a teenager and curl back up on the couch. :)

[bar]

And as a post-note, I've been looking at the paper at home this week to see what kind of things are going on. I can just say I'm glad I graduated from high school already. Because the Billings students are getting screwed this year. I wonder how such a move would be dealt with here in Massachusetts, where they already get a full two-weeks extra of vacation days each year (not including snow days)? Eeesh.

10:28 a.m. - 17 December 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda