measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

One of those songs...

I've heard this on the radio a lot lately... it's one of those "ooh, it's on!" songs that I will stop flipping the dial for...

19 Something

-- Mark Wills

Oh yeah.

I saw Star Wars at least eight times,

Had the Pac-Man pattern memorised.

And I've seen the stuff they put inside Stretch Armstrong, yeah.

Oh, I was Roger Staubach in my backyard,

Had a shoebox full of baseball cards,

And a couple of Evil Knievil scars on my right arm.

Well, I was a kid when Elvis died.

An' my momma cried:

Well, it was nineteen-seventy-something,

In the world that I grew up in.

Farah Fawcett hair-do days,

Bell bottoms and eight-track tapes.

Lookin' back now I can see me.

Oh man, did I look cheesy.

But I wouldn't trade those days for nothin':

Oh, it was nineteen-seventy-something.

It was the dawning of a new decade,

We got our first microwave,

Dad broke down and finally them old sideburns off.

I took the stickers off a-my Rubik's cube.

Watched MTV all afternoon.

My first love was Daisy Duke in them cut-off jeans.

Space shuttle fell out of the sky.

And the whole world cried.

Well, it was nineteen-eighty-something,

In the world that I grew up in.

Skatin' rinks and black Trans-Ams.

Big hair and parachute pants.

An' lookin' back now I can see me.

Oh man, did I look cheesy.

I wouldn't trade those days for nothin':

Oh, it was nineteen-eighty-something.

Now I got a mortgage and an SUV,

But all this responsibility,

Makes me wish sometimes:

It was nineteen-eighty-something,

In the world that I grew up in.

Skatin' rinks and black Trans-Ams.

Big hair and parachute pants.

An' lookin' back now I can see me.

Oh man, did I look cheesy.

I wouldn't trade those days for nothin':

Oh, it was nineteen-eighty-something.

Nineteen-seventy-something.

Oh, it was nineteen something.

2:54 p.m. - 25 November 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda