measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Remind me why we need to have Mondays?

[erich] and I went to the Cape (that's Cape Cod) for the weekend for a LAN party. I was tired and just not in the mood to deal with crap at work, so I called in pseudo-sick on Friday. Yeah, it was dishonest of me, but I need mental health days every once in a while, and frankly this place can be rather bad for my health on many days.

I arrived back at my desk this morning to see a barrage of little notes on my chair. We're out of CD-Roms, so I'm going to make a trip to Staples at lunch today. One person who wanted to drop from full to part time has had a hell of a time with paperwork (it's been lost among the ranks of management approval signatures twice), and she wants to know today when she starts that shift. I can't tell her when, because I know the paperwork is still in limbo. There was no milk in the kitchen, so I'm having to survive non-dairy creamer and my coffee tastes like shit. Well, not literally shit. Maybe composed dirt. Close enough.

Remind me why I'm still here?

*sigh*

I know ultimately I don't want to quit, but there are days where I debate it. It's just that the agony of job searching is even more hellish.

On the upside, the weekend was a lot of fun. We spent the weekend out in Brewster, which is near the "elbow" of the Cape. One of Erich's friends, Mark, and his family has a timeshare there for this week, and last year Mark began an annual tradition of a LAN party at the place during one of the weekends. There's plenty of sleeping space (three bedrooms plus two extra cots-- 8 spaces for sleeping, not including the couch and sleeping bag floor space, if needed), two full bathrooms, the kitchen with all amenities, and free laundry.

Can't beat it.

So we hooked up eight or nine machines and blew the shit out of each other in Unreal Tournament for the majority of the weekend. When the guys changed over to Ghost Recon, I went to playing some games on my Mac or doing some writing on the [novel]. With a bit of extra help padding from one of JT's recaps (my character physically reads them in the novel), I'm up to 40,000 words now, and if I do hit 50, I'll start cutting down the recap parts that are included in the novel-- ultimately I really do want this novel to e just mine. I do feel much better about things, even if I needed to get done by Wednesday. I'm going to try my best to crank it out by Wednesday morning, but I have a feeling I'll be able to work some internet stuff to have my official word count at mom's if I do some PC rewiring on Friday.

Last night's return to the apartment led right into trying to clean up one of my more stupid moments from Friday-- trying to rinse out the catbox in the tub. The pipe got clogged with the remaining scoopable litter, and we spent a good deal of last night trying to shove it out of there with a bent coat hanger and some hot water to soften it. *sigh* The tub itself is almost clean-- just a bit of silt here and there, but I've scrubbed it and Lysoled it already. But the water is draining very slowly. It does drain, but not well. Unfortunately the pipe going out of the tub goes horizontal for a while, not vertical, so the drain suction isn't that great to begin with (no little swirlies in the tub as it drains on a good day).

And they say that scoopable litter is flushable. Riiiiight.

I guess time will tell on this one-- hopefully with the hot water from a few showers, it will loosen everything up and gradually take it away.

*sigh* off to work and to replace this god-awful coffee with a Diet Coke...

10:07 a.m. - 25 November 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda