measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ten days left

[nanowrimo] has not been going well for me. I all but quit yesterday, out of exhaustion and self-criticism. But I can't quit. If I don't get to 50,000 by the end of the month, I will have failed to reach the goal. But I wouldn't willingly have failed to bother to write.

So I'm trying it. And I set a personal goal of 35,000 for now. If I reach that by the weekend, I'll increase it by 5,000. And so on. If I get to the full 50, I'll be amazed.

Part of the reason that I'm having so much trouble is that I have done my writing in first person, through the eyes of the main character, Raven. If she's not there, I can't write the events, right? Well, that lost me a lot of scenes that came to my mind, and now are gone.

I've decided instead to just write. Screw worrying about first person or third person narrative issues right now. It's a friggin first draft. I can fix that sort of stuff later, if I so desire. I started this project to see if I could write. It doesn't need to be the perfect work to epitomize my life's work.

So the groupings over on the [novel] page are going to be quite messy, if I post them. I can't guarantee any continuity at this point. Just images and scenes. Mini stories that at some point MIGHT be able to be combined to create a novel.

Who knows.

I've gotten good luck notes from both of my parents, and [erich] has been supportive of me, whether I choose to finish or quit. I just have to figure out how to get this blasted thing done, and let the images in my head go onto the computer screen.

And I need to get some sleep. I feel all wonky today.

~ Mel.

1:06 plm. - 20 November 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda