measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

enter... the void

Erich and I now live in the mists of Ravenloft. Isn't that lovely?

The fog outside has limited visibility to about a block... in good spots. Not sure what happened between the time we went to bed last night and this morning, but I believe the proper term for this morning's weather is "SOCKED IN."

It made for an interesting drive to work-- I'm amazed at how many reckless morons there are on the road. They're tailgating and getting all impatient because I'm trying to leave a decent amount of space between me and the car in front of me, just in case something crazy happens up ahead where we can't see. I'd like to have time to brake, thanks.

And the morons don't even drive with their lights on!! What is it with this state and refusing to turn on headlights in inclement weather?!?

On occasion, I've had to remind Erich to turn his on. I don't know if he just forgets, or if it's not a big deal to him, but sometimes it worries me. Maybe it's just that I was drilled with "If you need to use your windshield wipers, your lights must be on" when I took driver's ed, both from the classes and from my father. They will pull you over in Montana for not having them on during rain or snow showers, or the rare occasion of fog. And you'll get tagged with a reckless driving charge that results in a bit of pain from the insurance company. My brother got that once. Not pretty. Scott moved to Arizona, and couldn't find an insurance company willing to insure him for quite some time.

It's now nearly 10:30, and the fog doesn't show any signs of lifting. I wonder if it will sit like this all day. It is the time of year where that kind of weather could possibly happen. While I think it's kinda pretty in an eerie sort of way, I hope it does lift. Tan and I are meeting for dinner tonight for a "Girls' Night Out," and my driving will require some back roads to get both there and home.

It's amazing how fog can make everyday surroundings feel disconcerting, though. As I drove to work, down that same patch of Route 128 that I drive every day, nothing looked familiar. The signs for the exits barely came into view until I was almost right under them. Buildings didn't exist. Trees didn't exist. The highway stretched up hills into a blank nothingness that devoured every car.

Yeah, I was having some fun thinking up plot lines. It's a shame that I chose what I did for [nanowrimo]. I'd have a field day of writing tonight.

*sigh*

10:31 a.m. - 21 November 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda