measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kick-off of the movie season

The beginning of summer is no longer the kickoff of the big movie season for me. Now, November is. All of those great holiday-time releases packed into a few short weeks. I feel like I live at the movie theater as much as I do at home sometimes.

[erich] and I haven't had the opportunity to go to the movies since moving, really. We've been too busy on the weekends, and most of our money has gone to bills or getting things bought for the new place. We've developed a long line of movies that we want to go see in one way, shape, or form.

Tomorrow night, we're going to see the new Harry Potter movie. Erich bought tickets last week online for the 11:30 p.m. show. Yes, it's late. The movie is 161 minutes long. Over two hours. Which means we'll be walking out of there just past two a.m. But we did the same show last year, and found it quite enjoyable. And this year, we don't have to drive a lengthy ride home afterwards-- the movie theater is now just shy of a mile from our apartment. No big deal. It's late enough that most of the younger kids will be home in bed, having seen it during the 7 p.m. show (or the 9, but that's pushing it). We'll be seeing it in Randolph, and I believe it's on the digital screen. I've heard glowing reviews for it. I'm psyched.

Then in a few short weeks, the second installment of Lord of the Rings comes out, which I imagine we'll probably see twice in 24 hours, much like we did Star Wars: Episode II back in May. I'd like to see Harry Potter a couple times, too. Although I love my DVD, the movie does lose a bit on the small screen, and I've heard that the Quidditch match in this movie is amazing.

Aside from that, we have a small stack of other movies to see at some point or another:

  • My Big Fat Greek Wedding (since we're the only people on the friggin' planet who seem to not have seen this)

  • Ghost Ship

  • The Ring

  • Red Dragon

  • 8 Mile

  • Die Another Day (it's a bond movie... I've gotta go see it)

  • That new Kevin Kline movie that looks like a Dead Poets Society-esque piece

    I'm sure I'm forgetting a few... but you get the idea.

    I think movie tickets are going to wind up eating a lot of my holiday present fundage.

    11:25 a.m. - 14 November 2002

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    previous - next

  • latest entry

    about me

    archives

    notes

    DiaryLand

    contact

    random entry

    other diaries:

    lenaleigh
    trancejen
    moxiemoron
    pieceofmind1
    bolashley
    glitterfaery
    dlrealworld
    neko-carre
    sls
    vramin
    laura-jane
    nympholex
    finnegan
    bettyalready
    piotr
    cheesyp
    azimel
    mai-liis
    chatted-up
    vanillan
    tou-mou
    souramethyst
    princesscris
    tornflames
    siilucidly
    krimsonlake
    wordsofmine
    persacanzona
    sistercookie
    jen69
    dramoth
    opheliatl
    silverbiker
    invernal
    swordsmaiden
    ergoatlas
    journ-proj
    cielamara
    terter
    anonadada72
    eshanaminda