measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Interviewed woes...

I have become a recent victim of that god-forsaken spam email crap.

Sometime between 9 a.m. yesterday when I updated [interviewed] and 8 a.m. this morning, the hotmail account I used for interviewed was deleted by hotmail. I try to log in and a big red bar comes up with "Account Closed. Access Denied."

Well fuck me gently with a chainsaw. *sigh*

The kicker on this is that I'd contacted hotmail earlier this week because all of a sudden I started receiving bounced mail notices from all sorts of different email hosts. And all of the attached emails were spam ads.

Rather than bother with me, hotmail deleted the account. And with it went ten completed interviews that were in the queue, and an unknown-- small, but unknown-- number of requests for other interviews.

*sigh*

I realize it's one of those wonderful joys of the internet, and particularly of free email addresses. I got what I paid for, I suppose. And it's really not that big of a deal in world events. Just annoying and an inconvenience over something that I enjoy doing over my morning coffee. And so I'll gripe for a couple of minutes and move on. I had space on my AOL account for one more screenname. I added a new one for interviewed. It's now a paid-for account. On a very long-standing account, if it makes any difference.

I contacted all of the interviewees that I had listed in the queue-- most by email, a couple by guestbook. So far two have replied. Two other people had requested interviews on the message boards. I sent them out. So as of now, there are four back in the loop.

I just enjoyed the smooth roll that Interviewed had been on for a while. Things were working smoothly. I got stuff up. There was a comfy queue that allowed me to not worry that Interviewed would lose momentum with no interviews to post for a few days, and readership was at a steady "unique readers" tally around 100 people per day. And with the help of an interview from TranceJen a few weeks ago, people from outside of diary-x started to take notice and ask for interviews, too, which I loved.

It took a while to get the site up. I refused to spam guestbooks to advertise, or send out emails to advertise (although I admit I have done a few for people who dropped a message over at interview.dl since they're currently not accepting any new interviews due to their backlog). Most of it has been either word-of-mouth or people finding a link to interviewed, coming over, and wanting to be featured themselves.

So I'm quite pleased with how interviewed has been going. And I've had a good time with it.

The jarring stop is just annoying. I'm pretty confident it will get rolling again.

Anyway... I feel better. Sorry for the rant.

~ Mel.

10:17 a.m. - 15 November 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda