measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Novel prep

[erich] and I spent a cozy part of last night on the couch in front of the TV. He was working on details for his new character and the stronghold the character has, and I was starting to scribble-type some ideas for plot threads and characters for [nanowrimo].

It's an offical project. I know, you see, because I've now created a spiffy new folder on my laptop's hard drive for it, and even made a shortcut alias to it on the desktop.

As of right now, the current project idea is a suspense/mystery novel. Possibly murder mystery, but for now, at least, I'm working on more of an investigative mystery (where someone dies along the way). Modern day, New England town, slightly Pagan slant, and maybe a little clich� thrown in there about some dark past that threads to the Salem witchtrials or something, but not the obvious ones.

I wish I was more versed in Cthulhu lore, legend, and gaming-- I'd make it more of a darker horror underbelly.

Hell, maybe I can fake it. *shrug*

In any case, I didn't get a lot of scribbling done, but at least I got the mind churning. I have a couple of character names to play with, and the start of some background info on each of them. For other characters, I'll probably play a bit with a random name generator I found through Google. And then at some point during the weekend, I need to create my little New England town.

And make sure it's not the name of a current one. I could play it safe and use Dana, Enfield, Greenwich, or Prescott, which the towns that currently sit at the bottom of the Quabbin Reservoir... but I'd like to make something completely different if I can.

It's so intimidating to try to come up with a reality and write about it. Let alone get it done by November 30th. And the perfectionist in me doesn't want to crank out a piece of crap writing. I'm going to have to work so hard to just let my fingers type and not worry about what I'm churning out until the end. I have to keep reminding myself-- I can go through and revise it later. The goal is to crank out the first full draft in a month.

I'm trying to convince myself that I can do this. That I can come up with characters, scenery, plot, and dialogue on my own and mesh everything together.

Meanwhile, I think the rest of my brain is collapsing under the creativity strain...

3:25 p.m. - 17 October 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda