measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Difficult things to write

Despite my journalism degree, there's one type of writing I dread doing, for the sheer fact that it is extremely somber and difficult.

Obituaries.

I've had my share of writing them. I've had a part-time summer job writing and editing obits for the local newspaper, have had to write my own as a journalism class exercise on more than one occasion, and have helped friends write them for family members who have passed.

I still dread writing them, for fear that my words will sound cold and impersonal.

Yet today, I had to face that fact at work-- writing a simple announcment to send office-wide about the father of one of our art buyers, who lost his battle to stomach cancer on Saturday. Since I haven't spoken to her directly, I opted for the more vague approach for privacy and respect in my announcement to the office.

The Needham Design Department is sad to announce that I.S., father of L.S., died over the weekend following a long illness. The funeral is being held in New York.

In lieu of flowers, L. has asked that donations be sent to the hospice care center which helped care for her father.

(address provided)

It sounds a bit cold and generic, but the people who will even really pay attention to it are my department co-workers and the people who worked with her on the recent Biology textbook.

*sigh* not the kind of work I look forward to on a drizzly Wednesday.

-- Mel.

1:49 p.m. - 16 October 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda