measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nor'Easter blues

Rain... bah... day-long dusk-level light just keeps me in the dumps. And apparently, we're supposed to have it off and on all weekend again.

Joy.

I'm a bit away from getting over one of the hurdles I've been fighting at work for the past couple days-- illustration contracts. Our company has a nasty contracting process for work-for-hire illustrations, and it requires far more manhours and paper than what it's worth. All to protect us against getting sued.

I can understand it to a point, but considering that the company has essentially ignored all requests to make an over-riding contract for each illustrator for a book title, as opposed to rinky-dinky $250.00 contracts here and there, I am stuck with this mountain of paper that everyone can do without.

Paperless society? Give me a break. *sigh* Say hi to my contract pile, better known as Ream of Paper.

Still, despite the fact that I'm having some mood swings due to weather, I'm doing just fine. A bit sleepy, but I blame that on being happily involved and living with my boyfriend. Somewhat domesticated geek-life has its privileges. *big grin*

[erich] spent a good chunk of yesterday evening down at his parents' house. They're moving out at the end of the month since the house has been sold, and he's helping prep some things during the week so he can head up to JT's for the game this weekend. I'll be going along to help later this week, but decided to stay home yesterday evening after a hellish commute home and a lot of nervousness stuff that I really want to get out the door before I cut that site's projects off for NaNoWriMo at the end of the month.

Speaking of which, did anyone else know there was a Diary-X NaNo community? I saw it on the updates last night as I was journal surfing... it looks brand new. But hey, Diaryland has one. The more to commiserate with, the better.

Anyway... I haven't done a lot of work on my NaNo planning yet. Part of me wants to see how far I can really get by starting cold on November 1st. The rest of me knows better. I bought myself a fresh notebook to use for scribblings. I need to start a new project with a smooth, clean notebook-- it just gives me that feeling of no limitations, no boundaries. Clean slate, start writing.

At first, I thought that maybe I'd use a few of the plot lines that JT has come up with in our gaming sessions, but adjust them so that they don't follow the plotlines perfectly. What if Marcus flubbed one of those "Dragon Dusters" and didn't disintegrate the dragon automatically. But then, I wondered if that was really in the spirit of NaNo writing. After all-- the plots in our games were created by JT. It's not really a fair thing to just lift the plotlines, I think.

Or maybe it is, but at the same time, I just don't think it's what I should be doing. So nix that idea for now.

Instead, I think I will probably tackle some modern Pagan mixes with fantasy type thing. I've been reading Nora Roberts too much lately, but I will try to resist writing sappy romance novels. Maybe a little romance. But not overbearing. A penis is a penis, not a "manhood," regardless of what the paperbacks say...

*sigh*

Erich... shut up over there. Stop laughing.

Yes, you.

Perhaps, once I tackle my bedroom closet, which I've determined to be The Beast, reborn in a smaller, more compact, but just as deadly form, I can do some scribbling tonight.

It's a rainy, cold day. Perfect for curling up on the couch with my laptop, working on this project for a bit...

~ Mel.

11:34 a.m. - 16 October 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda