measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

kick-start writing

Now that we're settled in the apartment... somewhat... I want to be able to get back into gear and force myself to do writing in a style other than my personal journal. Don't get me wrong-- I'm not going anywhere. But I need to start expanding my writing out again and finding that creative muse.

A few of the LMAO's I've joined on Nervousness are helping with that. But the ones I join are so free-form. I really need some sort of guideline directions to start from so I can develop writing (for now) within a system.

Several days ago, Minarae mentioned NaNoWriMo, and I do think I'm going to give it a shot. The question becomes... can I crank out 50,000 words of a crappy novel in a month? Perhaps. Dividing it all out, it means I'll have to crank about six and a half pages every day on average. Even if I don't finish it, it would help me train myself to get my ideas out on the computer BEFORE going back to second-guess my writing. I usually quagmire myself by questioning everything, and then I lose track of my plot and my entire story idea.

So yeah, I'm in on this.

The other thing was a nifty little D-X project/game that I noticed this morning as I updated... a new game of Clue, being played through journals. I signed up. Don't know if we're supposed to keep our real-life identities secret or not. But I figured that would be an interesting way to do some deep character development.

I just need to do some creative writing. In any outlet I can find.

Hopefully this will give me a mental kick in the ass.

~ Mel.

4:53 p.m. - 20020923a

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda