measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Blessed Mabon

Summer is finally over. Thank Goddess. I hate the humidity and the heat. Absolutely despise it.

Give me a good snowstorm over that 90-degree heat anyday. I can always bundle myself up in a comforter.

It was quite warm yesterday for the beginning of autumn-- mid 80's and a tad muggy. We had the air conditioner running for the majority of the day. It was one of those need-to-be-lazy sort of days. We got up, piddled around with stuff in the morning, watched the Pats game, did a run (the final "move-in" related?) to Walmart for apartment needs, went to KFC, grabbed a family meal, and went home.

Nothing too special on this Sabbat for me. All of my ritual items and books are still in storage. But in a way, it was a special Sabbat. Mabon '02 was all about feeling at home. Getting cozy, preparing the hearth (if I actually had a hearth)... that sort of thing. With the couch in place and the majority of the moving boxes gone, the apartment is finally feeling more like a home than a packing box warehouse.

So on Sunday, we enjoyed living there. And in its own subtle way, it was a celebration of Mabon-- a rebalancing. [erich] and I have been running so crazy lately that the pause to veg all day and not really have to work to a plan was so wonderful. I'd planned to do laundry. I didn't-- I had enough clothes to get through today. So rather than push myself this week after so much insanity, I'm splurging and dropped it off at the neighborhood 'mat to have it done. Lazy, yes. But since I need to finish hanging up things in my closet this evening so my clothes don't take over the bedroom, it was a monetary sacrifice I was willing to make for the piece of mind that it would be done.

Even if it was just symbolic with the equinox yesterday, Mabon allowed me (and hopefully Erich) some time to rebalance. Something I've desperately needed for a few weeks now. I needed to laugh and have fun. I did a lot of both yesterday. Erich and I had a few tickle fights on the new couch throughout the day. I read an absolutely hysterical article over on the Witches Voice. It was a good day.

Next Saturday, we'll be heading to King Richard's Faire. We haven't had a chance to go yet this year, and I'm looking forward to it. I'm worried that my bodice isn't going to fit-- I've gained a bit of weight since last year. But we'll see. Tan, JT, and the kids are coming with us. It should be a fun day.

The weekend can't come fast enough...

Blessings,

Mel (SilverCat)

9:57 a.m. - 23 September 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda