measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The new apartment

I like it. :)

It's a very functional living space, and once we get some furniture in there, it will be an extremely comfortable one, I think. Almost all of the floor space is extremely usable. There's not a lot of narrow corridor to deal with.

And while this may sound very odd, I'm thrilled about the concepts of having corners. Actual corners. I haven't had any in three years-- the old apartment was set up in such a way that I literally did not have a single 90 degree (or anything close to that angle) corner in the apartment. It was quite odd. You'd have to see it to believe it.

The main door leads right into the living room. There is a second egress door out of the kitchen. On Tuesday, the landlords repainted the entire apartment (white, of course), so everything has that fresh paint smell-- it was a bit overpowering when I first went in, but we left the windows open, so it should be fine, now.

The carpet is a darker beige... near brown. The cabinets in the kitchen are dated, but so were my old ones-- they're a solid dark brown, and in good condition. In the bathroom, there's a weird little hamper sort of thing built into the wall-- I thought it was a trash can at first, but I think I agree with Erich-- it's some sort of a towel/clothes hamper. A small one, but good for depositing clothes you pull off before hopping into the shower.

Both bedrooms are a cozy, but comfortable size. Lots of closet space. My only complaint is that the windows are so small-- but I freely admit that I've been spoiled by big Boston old-style city windows, which are huge, double-paned things. These are your typical apartment complex sort of windows. The sliding glass door in the living room makes up for a lot of it anyway.

It's going to be very comfortable. :)

I'm having a lazy morning, but within the hour, I'll get dressed, grab breakfast, and then head over there to give the place a wipe-down. It was cleaned, but things like the cabinet pulls and such really need to be wiped down again-- they feel a bit sticky. Might as well do it before we really get stuff in there. I also need to get some things that neither of us have, or that were thrown out and needed to be replaced-- trash cans, dish racks, shelf coatings, that sort of thing.

We'll be picking up the cats at Erich's parent's house tonight and bringing them over so they can start getting used to the place. We plan on having the place liveable by Sunday evening-- at least the basics. I don't see it being much of a problem.

I'm psyched. Erich made a good choice for apartments. I think it will be nice and cozy for the two of us.

8:53 a.m. - 6 September 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda