measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wild Weekend

First off: Happy Birthday, Daddy. (although he doesn't read this... he's 59 today).

I'm back at work, whimpering quietly at the piles that grew in my absence-- but not all that surprised at them. Hopefully I can plow through a bunch of it today, maybe get home a bit late, and feel back to normal at work by tomorrow.

It was one of those insane weekends. I need a vacation from my vacation, but sadly, I'm not looking at any time off until the week of Thanksgiving, and then Christmas, which will be typical holiday rush craziness.

So no vacation until next year. *sigh*

Tan and JT were married on Saturday in what was supposed to be a "surprise" wedding, although JT hinted in emails to gamers, both current and long-time absent friends, that it was the gaming session not to be missed. Unfortunately, many people from the usual gaming crowd figured it was just a game, and weren't planning on coming. Tan had leaked what was coming last weekend to me, and JT leaked it to LGM, but otherwise, people didn't know. [erich] and I did have to quietly spread some news about it to people so that they WOULD come, particularly to people who depended on us for a ride. While I know that irritated Tan a little bit, it had to be done. While a great idea, the surprise wedding could have (and might still) cause a bit of bad feelings with those who read from the announcement that it was a game-- a special game, but still just a game. I also know about some of the sore feelings of being left out that have spread through various circles of friends when they haven't been invited to X or Y wedding recently. And while JT and Tan had no way of knowing the specifics with some of these people, it was a problem brewing to happen. And wedding-related sore spots seem to take a very long time to heal, from my experience.

Who knows. I might be wrong. I apologize for spoiling a bit of the surprise, but I'd rather have people come to celebrate the special occasion than have them feel resentment and left out, particularly with some of the bad karma that ran rampant through the gaming group just short of a year ago.

In any case, the ceremony was nice-- a simple Christian ceremony performed by one of JT's friends, who has legal authority to perform weddings. They were married in the dining room of the apartment, surrounded by family and friends. It reminded me a lot of my dad's marriage to Anne three years ago. The part that struck me the most, and which impressed me a lot, was not only the vows that JT and Tan took for each other, but that the children, who were now forming a legal meshed family unit, were asked to take vows to honor both genetic and step parents, and love one another.

I thought that was quite cool, extremely appropriate, and also a great way to both include and remind the kids that they are part of this new family.

In any case, a good time was had by all. After the wedding, we did have an impressive gaming session that scared a few of us (including me) out of our wits that our characters were on the edge of death. One character has died-- permanently. But we got out of there with a lot of luck and quick thinking. I'm sure JT will have that recap handy soon.

On Sunday, Erich and I got up bright and early, got a truck, and loaded up any furniture which required a moving truck. JT, Tan, and Ade saved our asses about halfway through the afternoon by coming down from Nashua to help us carry stuff in-- we were extremely grateful. No boxes have come up yet-- just the big stuff. But without their help, we would have been moving stuff in well into the evening, and with my knees giving out on me after the last ten days, poor Erich was going to be getting the majority of the job. My joints are in protest, forcing me to pull myself up the stairs right now. I'm sure with some rest, I'll be okay, but I need to make as few trips up and down stairs as I can for the next few days.

But even though we're not completely moved in, it's nice to be sitting there, realizing that we finally are in the place. Now it's a matter of getting stuff out of Erich's old apartment this week, and bringing over things slowly from storage as we get the place set up.

I have a home again. :)

*sigh* I'd better get back to work. More later...

10:16 a.m. - 9 September 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda