measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Beast MUST be tamed!!!

I have exactly 15 days to have the Beast boxed up and ready to move. Considering I have about a square foot of floor showing underneath this disaster, I'm in for a wild ride. *sigh*

Tomorrow [erich] is calling our new landlord to get the final word on whether we'll be moving into our apartment on the 1st or not. That's what our lease says, but we're having a squatter problem in the apartment tomorrow. I'm worried about this, but if we need to, we can get the housing authority involved. The problem is that I don't want to make too much of a fuss because we WILL have to live there, after all. Not a good thing to piss off the landlord before even moving in.

But at the same time, it's scary not to know whether I'll actually have a place to call home in two weeks, despite having dropped $1,150 on this apartment already. And since we don't know what date we're moving, no utilities have been called. We might be seriously S.O.L. on things.

I'm pissed and scared at the same time. It falls under the category of I Can't Deal With This Right Now.

gah.

But in the meantime, the Beast must be tamed. Regardless of where I wind up going, I have to be out of here by noon on September 1st. Our goal is to get me out on August 31st, since September 1st is Hell Day in Boston-- almost a third of the city moving at once. U-Haul and Ryder trucks are as plentiful as yellow colored cabs in Manhattan. Only they don't move quite so fast (if at all), and the roadways get blocked.

So we're going to try to get me out of here on the 31st.

I have made a lot of progress. And to be fair, all but a small amount of stuff is now out in the open on the floor. I've cleaned out a lot of trash. All of my penpalling supplies have been tossed in a tub for the time being-- I'll sort through that come September. My final LMAO goes out tomorrow, and I've already requested that no more be sent to me until September.

Tomorrow night (and probably through the weekend) I'll be doing loads of laundry, since I'm finding the occasional sock or face towel as I've gone through things. Little things that add up, but need to be washed. And slowly but surely, I'll be moving things out of here. I also have to finish cleaning out a couple areas of the apartment that have tended to accumulate piles of paper. That needs to be done by the end of Sunday so I can get down to business with my packing.

I'm now down to two weeks. Anything that's not a necessity, with the exceptions of things that can't be stored in the unclimatized storage shed, needs to get moved out to give me more room.

So much to do... so much to do....

Off to attack another corner...

8:37 p.m. - 14 August 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda