measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Office catch-up

Yesterday I had an entry rolling about my mom and a conversation I had with her, but I was interrupted, and then lost my train of thought. Hopefully I can get back to it at some point.

This afternoon I developed a really sharp pain in the back of my throat--it shows up anytime I swallow. *sigh* I hope it's just a random occurance thing and doesn't develop into anything further. I have felt really drained today, though, so who knows. I think I'm just exhausted. Between work and home stresses, I just am in a loop. I'm probably premenstrual and just being cranky for all I know.

It's been a very quiet week here at work. Linda's been out all week. All but two of the other project managers are out. And a handful of people are either on business trips or on vacation. I like late July and August-- people leave. Which means that as the admin, I get a breath of fresh air from the constant pounding. I've taken advantage of the time to get some serious backlogged work done, but I'm nowhere near done.

Part of me wishes that I'd be able to stay late a couple nights a week. But that would require taking the T to work instead of the car, and it means hellish commutes. I *could* stay all day on Fridays, but right now I'm taking strong advantage of those early-release Fridays since I really don't have a vacation this summer to speak of. I need those few hours on Friday afternoons to get errands done and just unwind.

I'm finding myself missing the nights where I stayed until 7:30. Sure, it took hours out of my evenings at home, but I didn't feel like I was falling behind, either. My schedule's pretty rigid, but I guess that's a payoff for sharing the carpooling with [erich] and using his car.

Things will change come September, though. Erich and I will essentially be going opposite directions to get to work, and I'll be needing my own car. So one way or another, things will get caught up come September. I might be putting in some late nights one or two weeks, but everything will come together then. It's just a matter of hanging on and keeping the current stuff up to date.

If I could get through my data entry pile that's been building up since March, I would feel better, though. It's about five inches thick at the moment. *sigh* Sooner or later, I'll get through it. It's making budget planning a bit creative, though, when I can't run accurate numbers. Maybe I can make that NEXT week's project. I think it'll be quiet again. Hopefully. Maybe I can just take it one project at a time, and have things done before the end of August. Providing Bigger Boss doesn't show up again to throw my life in chaos for a while.

After a pretty impressive evening of thunderstorms yesterday, the weather has finally returned to a wonderful temperature and humidity level-- it's beautiful out there. Blue sky, low 70's, Montana-like humidity. [erich] and I were going to get together tonight, but he just emailed me asking if I minded if he did some job searching stuff tonight, in light of rumors going around his office. Of course I don't mind. Maybe a little bummed-- I love spending time with him. But I also know that in about six weeks, I'll see him every day, so if he needs to get stuff done-- particularly important stuff like job searches, I'm not going to stop him.

Since we're almost certainly not hanging out tonight, I'll get some little stuff done around the house. Maybe I'll head over to Expresso Royale and grab a good glass of chai and just do some writing for a while. I have an LMAO or two to catch up on, and I'm sure I can find plenty to do just playing games on my computer if need be.

Measi time. One of those blissful things.

MMmmm... actually, chai sounds good. Maybe I'll skip outta work early since it's so quiet, and go grab a cup to go and see if it soothes the throat a bit.

4:15 p.m. - 24 July 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda