measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

holding my breath

[erich] gets to go through another round of "do I still have a job?" bullshit today. I swear this is happening every three weeks or so to him. I don't know how he can possibly work under that constant lingering fear.

I lie. Yes, I do. Because I had it at my old job. My old boss Andrew was that kind of an ass. Keeping that crap over the workplace all the time. Not a direct threat against me, but every once in a while, he'd fire someone because of a misstep. To be honest, I felt like it was more because he got tired of people who'd caught on to his attitude and would resist it a bit and not put up with the crap. I figured it out pretty easily, but kept my mouth shut. I knew it was only a matter of time for me to be the one getting the crap, and finally it hit me. He didn't outright fire me-- they said the way the job was evolving, it needed someone "older." Whatever that crap meant. Bear in mind I'd been at the job for a year and a half by that time.

Of course, they hired someone younger than me. Some little 19 year old girl who had the appearance of a bit of a tramp. Although it's a completely obnoxious stereotype, it was ironic she was from Revere (or Reh-vee-ah, if you're from around here).

*shrug* regardless of the legal liability on their part for "firing" me because of my age (they allowed me two months on the job to find a new one), I didn't care. I had found a new job (where I am now) and wasn't going to waste my time anymore with his sorry ass. He lives only two blocks from me. I see him from time to time in the Star Market under the Pru, although I don't think he's noticed me. I just walk away when I see him-- casually, as if I were browsing in the store ("I don't know... fly casual..."), but regardless, I don't give him an ounce of civil contact. Why would I?

So I wonder what's going to happen with Erich. How much of a ringer he's going to go through today. I already offered to pick him up at any bar of his choosing should the axe come down. And yes, I was serious. Hell, I'll buy the drinks, as long as I'm the one driving home.

*shakes head*

So I'm just holding my breath, hoping that he'll escape another round of this stuff.

1:19 p.m. - 25 July 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda