measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Blessed Midsummer

I've always been thrown off by the name Midsummer. It's the beginning of summer. Yes, I realize it's taken off the Celtic calendar. They simplified things. There was summer and winter. No in-between. Made things easy, I guess. If it were warm? Summer. Cold? Winter. None of this "It's supposed to be friggin' SPRING, folks! What the hell?!?"

Perhaps I should call the holiday by its other name, Litha. But still, Midsummer is just a happier name to me. I get the images of frolicking faeries in the evening, dancing through the leaves with fireflies. How Shakespearean, right?

Litha just gives me images of Lithium and bi-polar disorder for some reason. *shrug*

But anyway--

I celebrated Midsummer in my usual non-traditional fashion. Left work at 1 p.m., taking full advantage of our company's early-release Fridays. Cranked the stereo, and headed down Rt. 128 to pick up [ade]. We went by my storage space, picked up the A/C unit, and then headed into Boston.

Ade helped out tremendously with getting my bookshelves sorted. We didn't finish the entire apartment, but I wasn't expecting to. However, what we were able to accomplish in about two hours or so of work, I would have spent at least five and possibly more by myself. I worked on a couple of bad clutter corners while she went through and organized two of my three bookshelves. The place already looks significantly less cluttered.

[erich] came back up to the city after driving Tone and Dennis (his co-workers and roomate/friend, respectively) home. We took Ade out to eat at the House of Blues up in Harvard Square. She was a bit wary of the food at first, but seemed to like the New Orleans-style catfish nuggets and sweet potato fries. She's just not as adventurous as I was and am. I was kinda glad I didn't try Indian on her-- I think her head would have exploded from curry.

Maybe some other time.

Anyway, we came back, and hung out here for a while. Then Erich went home. Ade and I got a bit more done, and then crashed out. He returned in the late morning yesterday, and we went up to JT and Tan's for a pretty impressive game. I'll have the recap posted as soon as JT gets it out. But all I can say is approximately 8,000 XP. :) Seven PC's against 36 ogres, 24 Frost Giants, one Frost Giant shaman, one Frost Giant chief, 18 winter wolves, and an ogre mage. :)

Ah... sweet victory.

Of course, it just means that JT will kill us mercilessly later. Hee hee hee...

--Mel.

6:57 p.m. - 23 June 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda