measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Reiki steps

So it's been a couple months since I received my Reiki III attunement. I've been practicing the attunement ritual, memorizing it, and mentally explaining the reason behind every single movement to give them power and purpose. Now it's time for me to start actually doing what I've learned.

Reiki, like so many things, is something that needs to be perfected to master. Sure, I now have Reiki III (aka "Master" level) status. But the title itself means nothing. Being a level I practitioner meant nothing unless I practiced it, perfected my healing and my understanding of what I was doing, etc. Without actually doing and being Reiki, I cannot call myself a practitioner of it. There's a difference between being educated about a subject, and actually being someone who uses the lessons of that subject.

Since I've experienced distance attunements, I can speak on the validity that they work. After having my Reiki II attunement done distantly, I noticed a huge increase in the sensations I had while laying my hands upon another person. My awareness had increased, and the intensity of the Reiki I personally felt running through my hands was significantly stronger. My Reiki III attunement just capped it off and gave me more tools with which to work-- allowing me to give attunements to others.

Like my Reiki II and III Masters, I firmly believe that Reiki attunements should be given freely. How does one charge for naturally occuring energy, which cannot be depleted without destroying all life upon the earth? How can one have the poor conscience to scam people like that? I don't own Reiki energy, so why would I ever charge people for their access to it? So... I decided that aside from the costs to copy hard-copy manuals and mail them (which *do* cost money), I would be happy to give attunements freely. The only fees people would pay for would be for the hard-copy manuals and their certificates, and if they didn't feel being certified was important and did not want them, then no cost would be necessary.

Like many practitioners, I do not agree that there is only one way to do Reiki. It doesn't make sense that the chaos of Nature would be forced to be organized for this one part of itself. There are different methods, different approaches, and different philosophies about what makes Reiki what it is. I've altered three hand positions that I originally learned in Level I because they were uncomfortable, either for me or for my patient. And since Reiki is about removing dis-ease, it seemed counter-productive to have positions that seemed to perpetuate it.

Along this line of thinking, I feel that while I can give diagrams to people about "proper" hand placement for Reiki healing, ultimately each practitioner will develop a style that suits him/her and the situation. So my diagrams are a guideline, but not a firm rule about what must be done.

I decided to begin some long-distance attunement advertising through Ebay. I've seen others do the same there and seem to do quite well. So far, I've had two people interested. I'll be doing the first attunement on one of them within the next 36 hours. And until I can get the manuals to them, I'm putting together a brief Reiki info page for them to peruse so they can begin their practice.

I hope that others find the same simple joy in the practice that I have. :)

--Mel.

12:33 p.m. - 24 June 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda