measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

aaaahhh.... I'm molting!!!

(insert Wicked Witch exaggeration here for title effect)

Not badly. I've just got the ring of peeling skin on my upper arms-- the byproduct of my medium-well cooking last weekend in New Hampshire. I did get a bit of tan from this burn. Not the best way to do it, but at least I'm not looking beached white whale-ish now. I wouldn't mind staying out of the sun if I had a nice, evenly white skintone. One of those Nicole Kidman or Audrey Hepburn skintones. But I don't-- mine has a mottling of pinks and close-to-the-skin veins that just make me a strange mottled white color. It's not healthy looking. So I like to get a bit of color just to give myself a healthy glow in the summer. I've long given up on the dark tan look. It doesn't seem to be in style anymore anyway, which isn't necessarily a bad thing.

It's also a bit muggier outside, so I'm wearing a sleeveless tunic top today. My peeling arms are out in their full plus-sized glory today. Ah well, I have a bunch of work to do in my cubicle, so I won't have to scare people with my viciously peeling arms.

They're not that bad, actually-- it's already peeled about as far as the color/burn went now. I just have that peel-edging. No big deal.

[bar]

Cleaning yesterday didn't go too far. I realized fairly quickly that I needed to get laundry done first so I'd have room to do everything else, and I had no quarters. I ended up going down to [erich]'s for a few hours and dragged my laundry with me to do down there. His laundry room has one of those plastic cost-cards that you add money to, rather than having to come up with actual change. Plus his dryers work, which is a huge plus in Boston summer weather. So I got most of it done there. Will hang things up tonight and do the final two loads, consisting of towels, sheets, and random socks I find hiding in corners. And then I'll start getting some serious cleaning done.

My goal for the week is to get everything ready for Goodwill, plus a trip (or two, if I have time) to the storage place on Friday afternoon. It shouldn't be that difficult. Between winter clothes, which I obviously won't need before moving in August-September, and getting my suitcases out of there, I nearly have a full trip. If I can make one trip to the storage place each week until we move, I'll do very well in getting stuff out of my apartment, I think. The goal is to have it down to the bare minimums when we finally move me out. I think I can do this.

The problem is, as I explained to Erich over the phone and in person yesterday, that I get so overwhelmed and stressed out about moving. I know what I have to do. It's just a matter of trying to figure out where the hell to start. And by getting overwhelmed, then I start getting pessimistic, and don't do anything, which does nothing but complicate the problem. My previous moving experiences have been so frustrating, and I'm terrified about not having an apartment already set up.

All of my apartment experiences have been in Boston, which until recently had an obscenely tight rental market. Rents and leases on new apartments were finalized by the end of May for September 1st move-ins. Renewals were even earlier so landlords knew what they had to rent. It was stupid and insane to have to think six months ahead, but that's just how the market was. And in order to have a place to live, no one complained-- openly, at least. There was a lot of griping over beers at the pub, though. I mean, who wouldn't gripe about having to come up with four months' worth of rent just to get a place (first, last, security, and a finder's fee to a real-estate agent) It's simply an evil necessity of living in the city, and we dealt.

Now I'm looking at a completely different rental market, and it's unknown to me. I literally have no clue as to what I'm walking into. And so I keep overstressing and freaking out, and Erich gets to figure out if I'm just that insane.

*sigh* Can it be over yet?

10:23 a.m. - 10 June 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda