measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Saturday at work

A morning like this is made for just pulling the comforter back over my head and going back to sleep. Of course, that would happen if Miss Fizz, the Lich Kitten, would have stopped her kitten frenzy this morning. Started at five. *groan* Also would have helped if I didn't have to come into work this morning to get some stuff done.

Like I'd mentioned, I played hooky on Thursday for Star Wars. I paid for it... dearly.

So here I am at my desk. Reiki music blasting out of my little blueberry iMac, all of the lights off in the building save a few emergency lights and my desklamps. It's wonderfully peaceful in here-- nice and quiet. Perfect working weather. I've managed to get quite a bit of the pile of paper to migrate slowly off my desk, either into other people's offices or into the trash can. I've also managed to do some Saturday morning blow-off time, taking advantage of the photo-quality color printers here to print some web photos for an 80's LMAO I'm working on this weekend.

Of course, the geek in me has been wandering the cubicles a bit here as I've gone to turn on printers and copiers, and realizing how well this place would work for a First Person Shooter game. Especially for people my height-- I can't see over the cubicle walls. They're a half-inch taller than me (I'm just over 5'5"). I can also imagine the dungeon crawl through the office cubicles, and the battles against strange beasts such as the "I needed it yesterday" editor.

Yeah, it's Saturday. I'm tired. And I'm hallucinating on this weird HoneyDew Donuts coffee. I think they have some weird additive in it or something.

Bigger Boss supposedly is going into work down at his home office in New Jersey this morning, and I told him to call me around eleven if he needed some personnel paperwork faxed to him. With how the weather is, I wonder if he'll even bother to go into work. But he may surprise me. Of course, he'll probably berate me for being in here on a Saturday as it is. How many administrative assistants are willing to come into work on a Saturday morning?

Well, this one is. If it means that some people in my department will stop freaking out for a few hours on Monday. I'm so tired of the panic, and the fact that I'm used as the kicking pillow for their irritation with HR, or with vendors, or even with other employees. And it's driven me to say "Fuck it... I'm getting this done on my own time so I don't have to hear any more crap." The hope is a pipe dream. I'm sure Monday will still wind up being chaotic as hell. But at least I'll take a notch off of the chaos.

Hopefully.

10:37 a.m. - 18 May 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda