measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the Beast continues to roar

First off... happy birthday [thefinn]! May your thirties more fruitful and fun than your twenties were. :)

I haven't heard from Andi yet. I can't deny that I've got a bit of that "Dammit... EMAIL ME!!!" anticipation going, even though it's been less than 24 hours since I sent that email to her (see last entry). I've been so worried about her, and every time one of my parents talks to me, they ask me if I've heard from her. Since Andi and I were nearly attached surgically at the hip from age 2-18, the fact that we haven't talked in so long has them about as freaked out as it does me. Andi's a sister in just about every sense of the word.

Dammit, she needs to call me. I miss her.

[bar]

The Beast continues to get tamed, slowly but surely. And now it's a definite that I need to do this. No more putting it off, because it's official--

I am homeless as of 12 midnight on September 1st.

My landlord set a deadline of May 3rd to get the renewal request for my lease in, and I did not do so. [erich] and I will be looking for an apartment together. I guess if worst comes to worst, I can throw just about everything in storage and stay with him for a bit until we find someplace (or I do, if things completely bottom out on moving for one reason or another). It makes me a bit scared, knowing that no matter what now, I'm committed to moving out of the apartment I've lived in for the past three years. This was my first apartment completely on my own. And changes this big make me extremely gunshy, although I'm also excited to find someplace new at the same time.

So on Sunday, after being a completely disgusting slob for the better part of the last few months, I started doing some serious cleaning. [erich] was kind enough to help me do every last bit of laundry I had dirty in the apartment, which took care of the majority of the crap that was covering my floor. I also took everything out of my bathroom and scrubbed it down to the point that my hands and eyes were burning a bit from the overdose of Pine Sol. But dammit, it's clean. As clean as it possibly can be, given the fact that there's a litterbox in there that will instantly make it messy again, and the seven tiles that have fallen out of the bathtub wall. (Let's just say that they need to renovate my apartment in a major way-- the grout was rotting when I moved in).

I also started cleaning out a lot of the excess paper that was on the floor in the main room, and hope to have THAT cleaned out completely over this week. It's supposed to be getting extremely warm, though, so I'm not sure how willing I'll be to clean with how hot it gets in my place. But we'll see. If nothing else, I can do the kitchen clean-out tonight and scrub that part of the apartment, and leave the big room for this weekend's project, since we have no game.

Basically, this is the first major cleaning in preparation to move out in four months. Because I do not want to be stuck on August 31st staring miserably at the disaster in my life. Last time I moved, it was horrifying on many levels. This time, I'm going to try, at least, to prepare for it.

So here's the general timeline I made for myself:

By end of May:

Clean out closet and take everything to Goodwill that I haven't worn in two years

Reorganize apartment, go through drawers, etc. and put everything in some semblance of order to get rid of things that are just collecting dust

Pack all winter clothes and put them into the storage shed.

By the end of June:

Pack any other non-essentials and put them into storage.

Check on summer heat inside the storage shed-- Take anything OUT of storage that won't handle the heat over the summer to put in under-bed storage.

Start looking for new apartments and get in contact with a couple of places that we'd definitely like to move into

By the end of July:

Final sweep to get rid of anything I don't want to move.

Pack up books and put in storage, as well as any bookshelves I get completely cleaned off

Start putting anything that I can live without for a month into storage to get moving day down to basics

August:

Finish signatures on apartment, if not done so already

Move anything into storage that I can

Pack up essentials

Contact utilities

Have a moving day with as little stuff as possible.

Bear in mind, of course, that reality probably will be that on August 1st, I'll start clamoring to do everything. But I'm going to do as much as I can right away to get it done. All in all, the way I have this broken out doesn't make it that hard to do. And really, the hardest stuff is what I have to do by the end of May-- purposely because of how hot it gets in the summer, and how lethargic I expect to be if it gets nastily hot and humid in July.

Here's hoping...

11:06 a.m. - 6 May 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda