measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

reconnecting

Wow what a busy week. I can't believe it's nearly 6 p.m. Sunday. The time has just flown by this week, and an amazing number of things, roughling along said title theme, have happened to me. It's gotta be a sign of some sort. I'm convinced of this.

This all started about a tenday ago or so when a college friend and sorority alumni, Ivanna, dropped me an email to see how things were. We really haven't talked in a while because of normal life things. Even after September 11th, I hadn't heard from her and was kinda worried about her, but her name wasn't coming up on any missing or dead lists from the WTC. I assumed she was okay and just going along with life as normal. I told her I was fine, and gave her a catch-up sorta email. Haven't heard from her again since, but that's pretty typical. The two of us have that on-again, off-again friendship. The irony of her contacting me then was because I was starting a serious personal "I must do this" habit again of doing nightly Reiki as a way to ground, heal, and meditate. With how crazy work has been, I need it more than ever.

Despite the problems with my co-worker and the botched Reiki II lessons in January, I have kept the thought of advancing in my Reiki practice in my mind since January, sometimes stronger than others. I finally decided to look elsewhere, and found another woman, via some recommendations, doing training for nearly free. AND she works, conveniently, in another division of my company in the same building. I talked to her, and after a few meetings with her one-on-one she agreed to teach me the lessons needed for both Reiki II and III; the latter allowing me to teach Reiki to others and give them attunements. I received the Reiki II attunement last week, and will receive the level III attunement this week, followed by a couple months of practice under her guidance. I feel invigorated and completely at peace at the same time after the Level II attunement. I can only imagine what the level III will feel like. But I'm glad to finally have gotten to that step in my practice. The only thing that had kept me from achieving it was the financial burden that groups such as the Reiki Alliance charge for teaching. Reiki II costs $500 under them. Reiki III would be a complete impossibility at $10,000 (and a required invite to even be welcome to take it). My inner and outer Pagan just was repulsed by that, knowing that it was simply money, not the teaching of Reiki, that is directing such actions.

Monday was another event with my decision to stay home to rest my sore back from last Sunday's activity. LGM called me early in the morning, expecting to get my voice mail and leave a message, but instead got me live. He was checking to see what time I'd be available for him to drop over the CD's to install Mac OS X onto my computer. I told him that I'd be home and relatively unmoving all day, so he was more than welcome to swing by anytime then.

So around 1, he swung by and helped me install my new OS. And since it takes a little time to install a new operating system on a computer, we started chatting/catching up to kill some of the time. It was the first real talk we'd had since October, and was a confirmation that time apart was definitely needed. Not to say that we're the best of friends now, but it was refreshing to have a conversation with him without resorting to fights and transgressions that happened in 1996 or so. I still want to keep him at at least arm's length, but any questions about the "right thing to do" from October were answered on Monday.

Time apart between friends can start healing wounds.

After a couple hours and software download installs, he left, leaving me to do some pondering and computer exploration. And I did a good deal of both, with some mental sighs of relief for knowing that good came out of the silence for a half-year.

THEN (yes, there's more)... on Thursday, one of my high school friends, Jen, sent a mass email out to several people announcing that she and her husband, Jeremy, were expecting again. Jen is just about to turn 27, has been married for five years, and they have one son, Ethan. She's now pregnant with twins, which apparently run in her family. She's due in early September. I was thrilled to hear from her for a couple reasons--

1) I hadn't heard from her in literally years now. I'd heard about Ethan indirectly, but the last time I saw/talked to her was four years ago, which was most likely the very last time she and I would be in Montana for Christmas together with Andi.

2) An email address for Andi was included in the addresses she sent the letter to. I finally had a way to contact Andi and see what the hell happened.

So this afternoon, I sat down, wrote an email to Jen, both to catch up with her and also to ask her to please let Andi know I'm looking for her, or to send me her phone number or address so I can contact her.

I also sent an email off to the address in her email to me, to see if it actually was Andi, and if so, to please let me know because I'd been trying to track her down.

No reply yet, but it has only been a couple hours, so I'm not as concerned. I'm just happy I have a potential way to find her, plus finally hear from Jen, too. Other than the two of them, I have no contact with anyone that I went to high school with. There are four people I know of from Billings that were living in/around Boston as of a year ago. Two of the four I used to have sleepover parties with in elementary school. But I don't know where they are now, and wasn't too close to them even by the end of high school.

What a wild couple weeks.

5:35 p.m. - 5 May 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda