measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

cats on leashes in the fog

It's an impressively grey, cold, damp, foggy morning.

Of course, all of those descriptive words generally have to go together to describe fog. But I thought I'd put the entire package out there.

The fog started late yesterday afternoon, rolling off Massachusetts Bay in a fashion that can only be described as San Francisco-esque. I saw it as I drove into the city. As I pulled through the Allston-Brighton toll on the pike, and began to climb the bridge that wraps around Boston University's west campus, I took a look downtown (because the view of Boston is quite spectacular from that bridge on I-90... just a huge sweeping curve of the city down the Charles River). And there was this CLOUD. Just one big gob of cloud that was rolling into downtown.

At first, I thought it was smoke because of the compact nature of it, but I realized fairly quickly it had to be fog. There was no dark grey in it, nothing to suggest a fire. It was definitely fog. I hoped. Otherwise, I was going to be going into a really icky-smelling area downtown.

So I kept going, and within a few minutes got downtown and into Chinatown to go to the post office. People were confused on the sidewalks, looking up at this weird billowing fog that was rolling into the city. You could see the tendrils of it just curling their way down the street.

This is why I call it San Francisco-esque. Because the City by the Bay is the only other place that I've ever seen fog act like this. And in San Francisco, of course, it's a landmark.

I get my mail, I stop and get some cat litter at the drugstore, and then go wait for [erich] to get out of work. Once I got home, I decided that it was going to be a cool and refreshing time to be outside, and maybe would be a good time to bring Fizzylactus, the east-coast lich kitten (as opposed to [thefinn] and [hooligan]'s Rocky Mountain variety) outdoors for her first introduction on the leash.

All things considered, she did quite well. She disagreed strongly with the harness and leash until her attention was overwhelmed by the outdoors and the monstrosity of it all. She spent the better part of her 15 minutes outside hidden under the bushes at the end of my street, but she did quite well-- some sniffing around, a little exploring, but mostly just sensory overload. I brought her in, partially because I didn't want her to be out too long on her first try, and partially because I was starting to get a bit cold.

My time outside was spent watching both her and then occasionally looking up to continue watching said fog roll in. It was one of those quiet times with nature moments. I don't think I was the only one in the city doing so. It was quite beautiful to watch, and there's something peaceful and relaxing about watching nature in slow motion for a while.

Thank Goddess for the rare opportunities to slow down for no reason at all.

10:18 a.m. - 19 April 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda