measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

momentary lapses of ability

A huge fuck-up at work caught up with me today. Not one that I intentionally did. Not one that I was even aware (until yesterday) that I did. But I was pretty damned scared that I was going to lose my job over it.

I'm a bit calmer today, but my faith in my ability to do this budget part of my job is pretty shaken right now. I'm wondering where up my ass I was pulling some math skills from two months ago, because now I've got to figure out how we're going to come up with about $30,000 in our department budget due to a screw up that was completely and utterly my fault.

First off, let me state this--

Regardless of whether it hurts me or not, I admit my mistakes at work. This was a big one, and I flat out said so. (and the look of surprise on Bigger-bigger-boss' face suggested that it was a rarity for someone to be honest about this type of mistake). I don't know what I was thinking. No clue. But every single one of my numbers on this is at least $300 short for monthly income (not yearly salary). Multiply that by about 20 people, and you get the idea.

But when I fuck up, I admit it. I'd rather deal with the karma now, thank you, rather than use the jury-duty delayed system of karmic-backlash. Stuff adds up. People remember things. Better to just deal with the repercussions of this one now, and move on and improve from there. Sure, it might shoot me in the foot. But I can live much better with the knowledge that I stood up to take the whacks I was deserved, rather than be a chicken shit and hide from them.

Thankfully, a lot of the loss gets picked up by individual book budgets, which are still in good shape. But there's another chunk that goes to our department, and that's where it's going to get tricky. But I think I can make this work with some better attention to detail.

I'm just trying to figure out what stupid lapse in reasoning assumed that to find a monthly cost for payroll, I could just take a weekly salary and multiply it by four.

Stupid, stupid me.

*drowns herself in her coffee*

10:58 a.m. - 23 April 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda