measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

spring cabin fever

It's Sunday afternoon, and a far stretch in weather from the snowstorm that blasted us on Ostara. There's a trace here and there in the permanently shady spots, but otherwise, it's definitely early spring-- budding trees, flowers, sunny days that threaten to turn to misty rain at any moment, and cats that want OUT of the apartment to go check out those weird chirpy things in the trees, and will allow no arguments.

I got outside for a walk today. Did a little shopping, got some fresh air, and just avoided staying inside. It felt good, despite the headache that keeps threatening me to lie down for a while (prescription is getting poor in my glasses... one of those appointments I keep forgetting to make until my eyes hurt). The alone-time helped me get some of the crap that's gone on this week out of my system. Helped me refocus myself and relax a little before the new week starts. It's a good feeling to be able to just let some frustration run off. I do a lot of mine by either walking, or just watching my cats during their lazy afternoon naps.

Fizzy is curled up in her little fleece bed-- the original one she was introduced to as a tiny kitten. When curled up, she just fits in it now. When I first brought her home, she could completely stretch out and not touch both ends of it. Amazing how quickly these furballs grow. She has become a beautiful little dark brown (looking nearly completely black) panther, with some random flecks of white hairs here and there. She's a spunky little Fizzball-- still very active and very hyper, but affectionate as long as it's on her terms.

Colley is now sacked out on the corner of my bed, slightly curled on his side. And his paws, tail, ears, and whiskers are going through those strange flutters of twitching that can only be caused by REM sleep. I wonder what cats dream about. Particularly since they sleep so much more than humans. Colley is the complete opposite of his younger sister-- laid-back, somewhat lazy, and always wanting to be picked up and carried around the apartment while receiving some good chin scratches and head rubs.

They're my babies.

I wish it were a bit warmer. I'd take Colley out on his leash for a while to explore the bushes and trees right downstairs. My building is at the end of a dead-end street, and there's a little patio-like area with some bushes and such built on a slightly raised retaining wall (only about two feet high or so). Fizzy might get to go out soon, too, but I need to make sure the harness will fit her tiny little frame.

But before that... it's time for a nap.

--Mel.,

incoherant

3:36 p.m. - 24 March 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda