measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Blessed Ostara

Spring started today.

Could you tell outside? Was it any different than yesterday? In many parts of the USA today, it seems that the first day of spring is actually a good dosage of winter weather, including here. We're getting the "catch-all" precipitation storm... a little snow, a little rain... a whole lot of damp chill stuff.

Ah yes, spring all right. :)

Like Mabon on Sept. 21st, Ostara is a day of balance and of equaling the score on things. From this day forward -- until Mabon -- the sun will light the sky for more hours than it will rest. The slumber of the earth that began in September now changes to rebirth and reawakening.

Crocuses are blooming. Birds are chirping every morning. The magnolia trees that look like tulips are just about to pop out, and trees are budding everywhere.

It's definitely springtime, despite the weather today.

But even this yucky weather is a sign of rebalance this Ostara. The Northeastern USA has been going through a horrible drought, like much of the country, and after an extremely lackluster winter for weather storms, the earth is parched and desperately needs the moisture. For Ostara, at least, that moisture is coming down, starting to rebalance the scales that were tipped all winter.

Ostara is normally a "(sigh) that's finally over. Thank Goddess." New England winters can be extremely harsh, both in precipitation and occasionally in temperature, too. Although it might not seem all that different on the equinox, just the knowledge that springtime has arrived is a relief. In only a few short weeks, the windows will be open all the time. The A/C will be cranked up, and summertime will beat down on the city. It seems so foreign after a winter of blasting cold Nor'Easter winds.

And in the spirit of Ostara, I'm trying to rebalance myself, too. Work has drained me so much lately that it finally caught up with me in the form of extremely intense stomach pains yesterday-- almost entirely due to stress. (I was terrified by them and had a co-worker follow me home, since I was afraid of being behind the wheel in that much pain. And friends and family can vouch for me-- I grit through pain. It takes a lot for me to literally be in tears like I was yesterday).

In order to rebalance, I'm making an effort to do something to refocus on myself. Tonight I'm having coffee with Tan, and we're working on a Nervousness LMAO together. Then I'll go home and give myself a good dose of Reiki, concentrating specifically on my abdomen after yesterday.

I'm also going to find my exercise leggings in my closet so I can start walking at lunchtime. Take that hour for myself and just calm down during the day.

Because Ostara isn't just about the Earth rebalancing. It's a reminder to rebalance the self as well.

Bright Blessings,

Mel.

1:28 p.m. - 20 March 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda