measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Spring is in the air

It's one of those beautiful pre-spring days in Boston. The ones where you stand outside and wish it could be JUST like this ALL year. The sun's shining. No clouds in the sky. It's in the mid 50's, and might hit the low 60s this afternoon. Just beautiful.

Events at work yesterday forced me (fortunately) to get outside early this morning. Before I left work yesterday, I arranged a ride with Roberto to get here today. [erich] is home battling the plague (aka flu) that he's been fighting for two weeks, poor baby. But before Roberto would pick me up at 9:15, I needed to run an errand to the Copley Plaza Hotel, which is a 10 minute walk or so from my apartment. Usually not a big deal, but today I was playing foot courier. The Bookbuilders of Boston Bookshow is tonight, and they were missing a copy of our Biology book, which has won an award for cover design. Would it be possible to get a copy to them this morning? Sure, no problem, considering how close I live. I got the book from one of the higher managers and slipped it into my backpack last night.

They needed it there by 9, and I decided to give myself plenty of time to get there, drop it off, and get coffee on my way back to my neighborhood to the corner where Roberto meets me. So I left at around 8:30. And thoroughly enjoyed the walk over-- the crocuses are blooming, the daffodil stalks are getting decently high. Buds on the trees, birds chirping. It was just a lovely morning.

Thankfully. Because the weight of that biology book in my bag was impressive. Either I'm just completely out of touch with book carrying from college, or this thing was a monster of weight. Eesh. Granted, it's a textbook-- and a biology textbook at that. But ugh, it was heavy.

Finally got over there, dropped it off, and began to head back. I decided on a soda, rather than coffee, since it was so warm outside. Got to the corner, and hung out.

And waited.

And waited.

And started to get a bit concerned.

I didn't have my watch on, so I went into the 7-Eleven that's kittycorner to where I was waiting, and checked the time. 9:50.

Damn. Where's Roberto?

Went home, couldn't check voice mail because the system was down for maintenance. Dammit. Fine. Called a co-worker at the office. Roberto wasn't there yet.

Five minutes later he called. He'd completely blanked picking me up, and was on his way back to town.

I had a good laugh, and was Sooooo tempted to tell him not to bother and that I'd just take the day, but I've already taken one sick day this week and can't afford to take another free day off. He came back to get me and here I am. Now looking out my co-worker's office window at the sunshine, whimpering quietly.

I think it'll be a good day to get out early, no? :)

11:17 a.m. - 14 March 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda