measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

going back to normal griping

Meanheart and I are so diametrically opposed on the issue of drug use that I'm dropping the subject before it becomes a journal war, because I'm more than tempted to start flaming, and it's an action that I do NOT want to lower myself into doing. Bottom line is that I feel that my experiences are less of hard evidence than some book written by a pro-drug user on the subject, and there is no way to side step that and discuss without getting into a worthless pissing match. I also feel that it was a bait-and-switch to get someone anti-drug to respond in the guestbook so he/she could use that person (in this case, me) as his/her poster child for a "closed-minded individual" who goes along with what reputable medical journals and doctors say. Had I known that my entry would become posted into the journal, I would never have responded to the original entry, and just treated the journal as one that I am uninterested in and gone away. The private emails I've received have been borderline harassment. Thankfully, email clicks to delete are a beautiful thing.

I've discussed drugs with my brother, who glorified (and still does) its use. I've watched friends ruin their lives over drug use. There's nothing that could convince me that it's a wonderful thing in anything but the short term.

Best wishes to you, Meanheart, and I hope you never have to endure what my family has because of drugs. They're nasty shoes to walk in. As most of my friends can attest, I am a very "do what you want to do as long as it doesn't swipe my nose" person. Marijuana is one thing that has swiped my nose so many times that it's gotten raw. So farewell and go with whatever Divine or unreligious belief you follow.

[bar]

I'm hoping that things will calm down a bit here at work. Bigger Boss is continuing his assumptions that the Needham Design Department admin never thinks of contingency plans for things such as payroll, and decides to have my poor counter part down in New Jersey, Loretta, send an email to me with a completely time-consuming continency plan for days that I'm out of the office for our new payroll system that takes effect next week. I know this didn't come from her-- it's so crazy and time-consuming that it had to come from Peter. Asking every contract employee to fax an electronic timesheet down to her so she can enter them. Apparently Peter missed the "electronic" part of that plan-- they can email the timesheets to Loretta at their leisure so she doesn't have to run to the fax machine every five minutes for all 20 of my contract employees.

Another admin here in Needham (Maggie) and I have a buddy system in place, that's been in place for over a year. I let Loretta know this, explained what we do, and let her know that in the event that Maggie will be out, I'll send an email off that specific week to let the contract employees know what to do. I don't expect them to remember this. They forget week to week how to fill out their timesheets as it is.

Loretta was more than happy to get my email, responding with a "See Peter-- everything's under control."

Nice to know that Bigger Boss thinks so poorly of things up here. Maybe if he wasn't a ball of chaos when he was here, things wouldn't seem to out of control. *snort*

I need more coffee.

--Mel.

12:45 p.m. - 13 March 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda