measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Job training under extreme amounts of caffeine

Sometimes the only way to get information on something you're supposed to do as part of your job is to be a pain in the ass and demand training on it. Or so I've found, anyway, when it comes to this new budget planning position that I'm being moved into over the course of the year.

As co-workers, I have great respect for Kathy and Linda because they're always getting yanked in many directions at once. However, Kathy does annoy the heck out of me sometimes because once a door is open to her, she will find a way to continue to dump work your way that she just doesn't want to be bothered with.

Such is the case with some forms that assist the financial office in gathering and finalizing the production budget for different projects. She said she needed my help in entering numbers last Friday on these, and that they were done except for the data entry, but she was too stressed with prototypes, and needed my help. I told her it was fine, but I needed to get payroll done first, and then would get to that. She gave me some attitude, but I held firm, stating that if she wanted to deal with 25 employees come 2/22 who didn't get paid, I'd be happy to divert all of them her way.

She stopped, although the attitude kept up while I was trying to get on the server to enter these numbers for her. Of course, once I was on the spreadsheet, it took all of ten minutes to do. I seriously doubt that she couldn't have found ten minutes to do this.

Anyway... yesterday, she dumps another set on me. These ones aren't even complete. Needs me to do them, and yes, she's aware that the numbers are all over the place. I remind her that I have not yet been trained on these spreadsheets, and if they're not allocated correctly, it's kinda pointless to give them to me because I wouldn't know what to do with them. This goes in one ear and out the other, and she leaves them, saying that when I have time, she'll go through them with me (well, obviously she's aware that I'm busy, and obviously she has the time to work them). I also know for a fact that she gets confused by these things, and so I'm not going to have her explain them to me.

So in the spirit of anger that consumed some of my co-workers dealing with her on Friday, I contact the financial office, giving them a heads up of what's going on. And they agree to meet with me first thing this morning to go over how to do these TCE forms. And we did so, but during the training, the financial organizer fully agreed that dumping incomplete TCE's on me was out of line, and that it's one thing to have me enter them. It's another to crank out numbers but not allocate them to the line items where they're supposed to be placed.

I think I understand how to do them, but I haven't rushed to get the TCE's entered because I've had other projects that were due earlier this week to complete. I've had other pressing projects to do, and frankly I don't see the rush to get those in when everyone else needs stuff done now, too-- and they haven't given me an attitude.

Just goes to show you-- a bit of politeness can go a long way. And it's a good idea to never piss off an admin. assistant. We have some power on how things get processed. Trust me.

[bar]

Completely random comment. I want one of these. The ones at the bottom. I want to archive my religious rituals and journals in a huge old padlocked tome. Sure, it's not practical, and they cost more than I generally have to live on per paycheck... but *drool*.

Anyway... temporary witchy moment... back to reality {snicker} now...

[bar]

It has been rough trying to move today on the work I have to do. I'm quite tired after only about five and a half hours of sleep. From around 8:30 to 11:30 last night, I was on an AIM chat room with Krissy, [thefinn], and [hooligan]. Krissy had requested an unusual Interview for her feature on Interviewed.dx, and considering how goofy Krissy is, I knew that normal answers were never going to happen anyway. But after a long day of work, my brain isn't up to a crazy, unplanned interview. So I begged Finn and Hoolie to help me on this one.

I, for one, had a great time. Hopefully others will enjoy the interview once it's up on the site. :) Hopefully this weekend, if I have the time to work on it.

Anyway... gotta get some more caffeine and get back to work. [erich] will probably be here to pick me up in about three hours, and I'd like to have my desk relatively clear by then....

--Mel.

1:32 p.m. - 21 February 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda