measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Concerning Hobbits...

Happy Birthday, Mr. Tolkien. I hope your soul is happy with the resparking of interest in The Lord of the Rings due to the movie.

I am one of those who did read the books long before the movie, and fell in love with hobbits and elves and wizards, although I was a bit too young to really understand the book at the time. LOTR is not exactly easy reading for an eight year old, regardless of how advanced her reading level is. However, I loved the characters, and seemed to forget a lot of the scary parts. And so my images of Hobbiton were of Bilbo and Frodo sitting underneath the trees, just letting their minds wander. I bought my own set of the books back in 1993, but over my summer break from college, I brought them home and forgot to pack them. Since then, my father remarried, and my bedroom has been reclaimed. So I'm not quite sure if those never-read copies are still around.

Now that the movie is out, a whole new generation can be introduced to the books. And hopefully they will read them. For you are the master of the genre, dear Sir. And unlike so many of the fantasy novels out there, LOTR is one that is properly placed in the classics section. Thankfully, I saw that yesterday at the bookstore (even though there's a huge section for promotion right now).

Since it's been so long since I read the novels, I decided to pick up another set so that I could start on them right away. You'll forgive me, Mr. Tolkien, for getting the set with all of the movie photos on them. I figured I could worry less about reading those. Eventually I'll get that big dark green, highly decorated copy for my personal library. But for now, I need to stick to paperbacks that I can wear thin with rereading.

Happy Birthday, Mr. Tolkien. Thank you for giving the fantasy geeks of the world a reason to dream....

--Mel.

10:38 a.m. - 3 January 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda