measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Slushy Winter Sunday

I spoke too soon in my last entry about the weather. Winter came in last evening with a bit of a vengeance, leaving a frustratingly slushy, damp Boston in its wake, and a pretty decent amount of snow outside of the city. According to JT this morning, Nashua got 10 inches of snow.

Yeesh. And it was near 70 earlier this week. *shakes head*

I do like winter. I really do. I just hate having to walk out in it once melting has started, because New England has this nasty substance called slush. And it's more prevalent than any other substance on the streets (save salt) from December to mid-March. But I love the sight of falling snow, and adore taking a walk out in the city while it's snowing, when the blanket of flakes from the sky just buffers the sounds from the nearby streets. Boston becomes a white, peaceful wonderland for a few hours.

Like I said... I just hate the slush.

So since it's a bit icky out there, and rather damp and cold, I'm having a day of hunkering in the house. Probably will get a BIT of cleaning done, although not much. Take a long nap this afternoon, maybe watch a bit of the Pats game. But today will primarily be for hanging out in the flannel pj's, watching movies and just taking it easy before the craziness of this week begins.

*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*

Last night was JT's annual Christmas party. We had a great time... JT, Tan, the kids, Avatar, Erich's friend Perkis, Erich, and me. Much more low-key last year, but as JT and Tan have both said recently, the low-key party was a nice change. We had a bunch of great food, a fantastic gaming session that had a lot of laughter but some serious gaming, too, and a yankee swap where I think EVERYONE went off happy. I know Tan did with this freaky Maori-esque tattoo'ed skull. She's very into Halloween stuff, and plans to do a lot of crafty decoration projects. This skull fits in quite nicely.

I received my very first pewter dragon sculpture... it's about five inches high, and has a small snowglobe on it. It's beautiful. :) Someone's selling the same one on Ebay here. For now, I have it sitting up on the shelf on top of my VCR. But once Erich and I get a storage space in a couple months or so, I'll be able to redecorate in here. I'm quite happy to have the dragon. I already have a small collection of gargoyle figurines collected on my ritual altar, and this just goes along with the mythical theme. :)

The ride home from Nashua was a bit hairy last night. The snow began to stick and was still coming down-- slanted right at the front windshield-- as Erich drove. As crazy as it was, though, it was a nice drive home. Since LGM wasn't up in Boston this weekend, we gave Avatar a ride up, and he and Erich chatted most of the way home. I joined in a bit, but my recent head stuffiness prevented me from being able to hear a lot of the conversation (I was in the back seat, since I am the shortest... Avatar kinda defacto gets a front seat in the car, being 6'5" and all). It was very nice. With all that has happened with LGM, I have constantly had this fear that leaving LGM's grip would result in both Avatar and Wildcard no longer talking with me. I'm thrilled that it's not the case. While I'm not in the close circle of friends, when we are around each other, it's cool. So I'm happy.

Well, I think it's about time for a nap... the cats are asleep, so I'd better take advantage of the situation. :)

--Mel.

12:12 p.m. - 9 December 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda