measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's the most weird, stressful time of the year...

It's the sixth of December already? Eesh... not only is this month moving fast, but where the hell did 2001 go?!? I'm not ready for it to be over yet. Too much to get done.

What were my New Year's Resolutions again?

Beyond the "Don't. Even. Start." topic of present shopping (ugh), I feel like this December is just going to be a blur. In particular, because of holiday parties. Here is the next fortnight and change in my life:

    Saturday, Dec. 8th: Party at JT and Tan's, with Yankee Swap, followed by the celebratory gaming session. :)

    Monday, Dec. 10th: Gotta call Andi to wish her a happy 27th birthday, and see if her wedding is actually still on, since I haven't heard a peep from her since oh... last February or so. (*grin* which is pretty typical with the two of us, actually.)

    Thursday, Dec. 13th: Design Department potluck party and Secret Santa Swap

    Friday, Dec. 14th: Company luncheon party at the hotel. Means I need to dress up for work on a Friday. Ack! ***BUT*** I get paid, which means I can go shopping.

    Saturday, Dec. 15th: Anthony's Christmas party with Yankee Swap. Probably some shopping this weekend, too.

    Monday, Dec. 17th: Go insane as I try to get all of my paperwork finalized for the fiscal year. This will take all week.

    Tuesday, Dec. 18th: Hopefully mail the Christmas presents off to Montana.

    Friday, Dec. 21st: I'm assuming we'll get out of work early. We usually do. Go home and pack up stuff for the holidays. Frantic wrapping, last minute shopping, that kind of thing.

    Saturday, Dec. 22nd: Pack up the car, throw two cats into the carrier, give [erich] a big morning kiss along with a side of Dunkin' Donuts coffee, and off we go to the wilds of Easton again for holiday cheer.

*gasp* And um... I still haven't even looked at my Christmas cards that I'm sending. *sigh* One of these days I'll get to them. Really. Honest.

*snort*

You know, I plan to send them to all of my penpals with letters during early December every year. I really do. I go out and get inexpensive boxes of them and usually even address the envelopes so they're ready to go. This year I must have had a realization that I wasn't going to get to them, so all but one box are still wrapped. I've completed *a* letter in the last couple weeks. No handwriting. I guess I'll type them out this weekend or something, and then send them off next Saturday when I get paid and can frighten the temporary holiday postal employees at the mound of stamphood that I purchase in a single round.

If nothing else, I really should get the cards out to the relatives I never see. Let them know what's going on in my life. Goddess knows that my dad probably hasn't talked to his brothers/my uncles all year.

And then there's the question of shopping. Mom's all set. I haven't bought her stuff yet, but I know what I'm getting her. The Yankee Swap and Secret Santa presents are all set. But I gotta figure out what I'm getting Erich, my dad, and my brother. I have a couple ideas with Erich, but they're primarily gaming-geek ideas, and I'd like to get something for him other than gaming stuff. This isn't to say that I won't get him gaming stuff, mind you-- but I'd like to get something in addition to that. Too bad they don't have actual Nimbus 2000's. Somehow I think that Erich might not mind having a flying broomstick to buzz the John Hancock tower and scare the crap out of all of the employees that call his department with "um... think about this for a second" questions. But my dad and my brother are both enigmas to me. What do you buy for the doctor father who already seems to have everything?!? And what do you buy for the brother that you really don't have a lot of good feelings for?

*sigh*

In any case, I'll probably get all but Erich's shopping done over the weekend of the 15th so I can ship a box off to Montana. My brother will be visiting Dad for Christmas, and then coming to Pennsylvania for New Year's (I'll miss him in PA by two days.)

But on top of all of this insanity, it's hard to get into the Christmas spirit. All the stores are decorated, and Christmas music is piping through all of the sound systems. It's impossible to avoid. But after wandering through the Pru for a while and looking at snow-decorated snow windows, I'm going out into 65 degree weather wearing a T-shirt and jeans.

No really. Let's remember that this is Boston. You know... in New England? Yeah. We're supposed to be one of the Great Northern Tundras here.

The weather has been so weird here with this warmth. I feel like I'm in the Bay Area in California. They even made a point during the weather report the other night that for the first time in recorded history, Buffalo, New York, received absolutely no snow in November.

Now how on earth am I supposed to get into the holiday spirit when it's feeling like late May? I mean, it's to the point that when I hear Bing Crosby singing "White Christmas," I'm starting to snicker. The words are ones of irony this year, I think.

Eeesh... too. much. holiday. stress. Ahhhh!

(recomposes herself)

Oh yeah... I remember what my New Year's Resolutions were... to not make any resolutions this year... *thunks head*

9:59 a.m. - 6 December 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda